Title: A History of Charlton Park

A Rough-Guide Timeline: the Birth of a Town

© Stephen Osmond & David Hanks 2008AD

Sandwiched as it is between Cheltenham and Charlton Kings, Charlton Park's history is inextricably linked with both. Consequently, this local timeline deliberately embraces all three locations, including the former hamlets and villages falling within Cheltenham's orbit, revealing just a few of the many historic and newsworthy events impacting on the locality throughout the past two millennia. Details are of course sparse during earlier centuries and if you can supplement them, please submit details using the 'contact' button and they will be considered for inclusion. In due course this may become the definitive 'on-line time-line' for Cheltenham and its environs.

Entries referring in any way to Charlton Park are shaded grey.

Search for any year or for any word in the timeline using 'Ctrl+F', e.g. 'Ctrl+F' and the word 'flood' will take you to 1830, 1845, 1855, 1924, 1931 and 2007. On the other hand, 'Ctrl-F' and 'Rolling Stones' will take you to 1964, where there were floods of tears, but no other serious problems!

 Jump to: 1200 | 1300 | 1400 | 1500 | 1600 | 1700 | 1800 | 1900 | 1950 | 1960 | 1970 | 1980 | 1990 | 2000

Some 2000 years ago, during the late 'Iron Age' this part of Britain's 'mid-lands' was in the possession of skilful tribal farming folk we now refer to as the 'Dobunni' - until they were themselves conquered, following the second (successful) Roman invasion of this island in AD43.
By AD50 Christianity is believed to have been preached in the neighbourhood, making Gloucestershire possibly the first area in the country to embrace the Gospel. Several notable finds of Roman coins (e.g. two urns of Roman coins found under Cheltenham's High Street and a jar with some 1000 Roman copper and silver coins found buried under Old Bath Road next to what is today called Charlton Park).
By 365AD there was at least one Romano-British settlement - at the present Vineyard Farm in Charlton Kings.
By 577AD, the West Saxon, Caewlyn defeated the British Kings of Bath, Gloucester and Cirencester at Deorham to become master of the Cotswolds.
584 First Saxon King ruled over the towns of the Mercian Kingdom. The Cheltenham area occupied a central position between the two royal Mercian palaces of Gloucester and Winchcombe.
628 Penda of Mercia won a victory at Cirencester and the Cheltenham area became part of his kingdom.
680 The Bishopric of Worcester, in which Cheltenham remained until the Reformation, was established by Theodore, Archbishop of Canterbury about this date.
680 Earliest reference to a settlement named Arle ('alder trees which grow near water) - oldest recorded name in Cheltenham area.
759 Rindburna (Rungebourne, Charlton Kings) mentioned in a Saxon Charter.
773 Bishop of Worcester had been drawing revenues of a minster church at Cheltenham from at least this date.
790 A priory of Benedictine monks was founded about this date; the site of the building is thought to have occupied the former 403 and 404 High Street, Cheltenham.
803 First documentary evidence of Cheltenham's existence is an account at the Council of Cloveshoe which refers to a disputed monastery or minster church at Cheltenham at about this date (traditionally thought to have been located at Cambray).
877 A monastery or minster church at Cheltenham was probably destroyed by the Danes who were at Gloucester, before King Alfred defeated Guthrum at Ethandune, Wilts.
888 A monastery, dedicated to St Michael, and founded by King Offa in the neighbouring village of Cleeve, was granted to Bishop of Wicca by King Alfred the Great
899 Earliest reference to nearby Prestbury in a charter: 'Preosda Byrig' (the Priest's Manor) being the nucleus of the original village there.
1011 St Mary's Church (Charlton Kings) established about this date.
1022 Heberteo (Up Hatherley) first recorded.
1041 King Edward (the Confessor) became Lord of the Manor of Cheltenham, granting it a charter and this land belonged to the manor. One or more timber framed houses would have dotted the area and at 'Babba's Ford' (Bafford) one such homestead sat upon the same spot as earlier houses, no doubt eventually becoming Charlton Park's mansion house. The location of the original ceorls' settlement of the Saxon Royal Manor of Cheltenham may have been located on Charlton Lower Field at the point where Sandy Lane, an ancient way, crossed another very old track, Hollow Lane. The first development of this came perhaps between 1066 and 1086, on land across the Lilleybrook, creating the area later known as Bafford Hide.
1050 Corn is recorded as grown in Sandford Fields by this date.
1060 The Manor of Cheltenham was re-organised by Edward the Confessor's reeve about this date which resulted in Swindon's separation from the royal manor.
1066 King William (The Conqueror) became Lord of the Manor of Cheltenham, making considerable additions to its extent and population.
1084 At a synod, mention was made of a priory and also a church and chapels at Cheltenham.
1066 Swindon Manor held by Archbishop Stigand.
1086 Domesday Book is completed and describes Cheltenham as 'Terra Regis' or King's Land and is spelt 'Chinteneha' and Sandford Mill was there at this time. Leckhampton recorded as 'Lechametone' or Lechantone' (homestead where garlic or leeks were grown). Up Hatherley known as 'Athelai' (hawthorn clearing). Swindon Village as 'Svindone' (hill where swine are kept).
1086 Adult population of Cheltenham estimated at 114.
1087 King William II became Lord of the Manor of Cheltenham
1100 Probable date that a church was first erected at Swindon Village, Cheltenham.
1110 King Henry I is now Lord of the Manor of Cheltenham
1120 On the Cirencester Abbey Rolls, the town is spelt: 'Chintehe'.
1133 Henry I granted Cheltenham's church lands and its curacy to the newly founded St Mary's Abbey at Cirencester.
1135 The Manor of Cheltenham passed to King Stephen.
1136 Prestbury Park formed as a hunting park by John, Bishop of Hereford, by this date.
1143 On the Cirencester Abbey Rolls, the town is spelt: 'Chilt'.
1143 Roger of Hereford confirmed a gift to the church at Cheltenham in return for provision of a service 3 days a week in his chapel at Arle.
1154 King Henry II & Queen Eleanor became joint possessors of the Manor of Cheltenham. Walter de Hereford took the lease of the manor until 1156; gave Manor of Redgrove (near Arle) to Llantony Priory at Gloucester.
1154 Mention is again made of vineyards being cultivated in the neighbourhood, probably on hillside at site of present Vineyard Farm, Charlton Kings.
1160 Charlton Kings first noted as 'Cherlton' ('the peasants' farmstead').
1160 Manor of Redgrove, first documented by Walter of Hereford, confirmed as in the possession of Llanthony Priory.
1160 Charter of Earl Walter of Hereford confirmed grants of land in Cheltenham made by his predecessors to Llantony Secunda, including 8-acres at 'Acle' (Oakley) given by Ralph the Butler.
1162 A chapel at Leckhampton is mentioned in the Cirencester Abbey Rolls which recorded a dispute between Henry, the priest of Leckhampton, & canons of Cirencester.
1164 Leckhampton Church acquired parochial status by this date.
1187 Bishop of Hereford consecrated a chapel at Charlton Kings.
1190 The churches of Leckhampton (St Peter's) and Charlton (St Mary's) made subject of the mother church of Cheltenham (St Mary's) by the Bishop of Hereford. Two chantries at Arle and Hatherley were under the same jurisdiction.
1199 King John became Lord of the Manor of Cheltenham
1200s By the Ancient Charters, inhabitants of the Manor of Cheltenham were exempt from tolls & taxes; they had their own courts with extensive criminal jurisdiction and elected their own coroner. The 'gallows' stood in the present Hales Road.
1201 Westal ('western nook of land') first recorded.
1216 Manor of Cheltenham passed to Henry III
1220 Hayden first recorded (meaning: 'hill where hay was made').
1221 Ham (Charlton Kings) first mentioned as 'Hamme' ('Watermeadow').
1223 Cirencester Abbey Rolls mention Alston in a deed of gift about this date.
1226 Henry III gave the Manor of Cheltenham to William Longspee, Earl of Salisbury; he also granted a weekly market on Thursdays - originally sited west of the Plough Hotel (Regent Arcade), and one fair each year, to last 3 days at St Jamestide. It is likely that burgage plots were set up to attract new inhabitants to the manor.
1230 Benhall called 'Benhale'.
1232 The (medieval) version of the house, following whatever was there before it, in what became Charlton Park was held by a family called de la Forde or Forthey since at least 1232. The house subsequently took this family's name being known as The Forden or Forden House as it passed from Thomas de la Forde to John Grevill in 1401.
1233 Naunton already established by this date.
1243 Henry III granted the Manor of Cheltenham to his wife, Queen Elenour.
1244 The Manor of Cheltenham was leased to the Bishop of Hereford.
1247 Henry III granted the Manor of Cheltenham to the Norman Abbey of Fecamp, in exchange for its English coastal possession of Winchelsea & Rye.
1249 Bishop of Hereford obtained grant to hold an annual three-day fair in August at Prestbury.
1250s The 'King's Highway' - an old route including present-day Hales Road noted.
1250 Cakebridge first recorded as 'Kakebruge' about this date.
1250 Bishop of Hereford was granted a weekly market at Prestbury. 'Le Borough Streate' (the Burgage) probably laid out as part of a new development accompanying the market.
1250 When Arle Chapel was destroyed, a beam was found with the date '1250' on it.
1250 Small manor at Noverton (Prestbury) owned by the Prior at Llanthony.
1252 The Manor of Cheltenham came into the possession of the Abbey of Pischam in Normandy.
1252 Leckhampton Manor belonged to Adam le Dispencer.
1255 Ryeworth (Charlton Kings) first noted as Rywrthe ('enclosure for growing rye').
1262 Poachers bound the keeper of Prestbury Park and made off with his game.
1275 Gerard was bailiff to the Bishop of Hereford at Prestbury.
1280 There were 129 tenants at Prestbury.
1287 'Lackington' - variant of Leckhampton - first seen recorded
1288 Prestbury was designated a borough.
1289 Richard de Swinfield, Bishop of Hereford, spent Christmas at his manor at Prestbury.
1290 First record of 'Edge Way' - possibly route of Old Bath Road
1294 The 'Extent [Survey] of the Manor of Cheltenham' carried out by Richard of Abingdon for Edward I, mentioned 52 burgesses & that all the demesne had been leased.
1300 Pilley ('clearing by a stream') first documented about this date - an area name in Leckhampton.
1302 Ralph Crompe was a witness to an inquisition taken at Leckhampton.
1304 Cirencester Abbey cartulary showed Cheltenham had a monastic grange & granted a pension to 'Thomas of the Mill at Cheltenham'.
1306 Lilley Brook, Charlton Kings ('Little Enclosure') first mentioned.
1307 Cheltenham listed as an urban community in a tax list.
1313 Cheltenham listed as a borough.
1321 Richard de la Hulle, chaplain, received two half-acre plots in Naunton Field & Leckhampton.
1327 'Atte Hulle' - original name Hill Court and Farm (Evesham & Albert Roads).
1330 The Gifford family were Lords of Leckhampton Manor.
1334 "It has been established by inquisition....that the townships of Cheltenham, Arle, Alston, Westall...Charlton, Leckhampton and Swindon have not kept watch according to the said statute".
1339 Permission was given for an oratory at Charlton Kings for two years.
1341 Robert Posseser of Prestbury set off on a pilgrimage to Santiago, Spain.
1344 'Ockely' - more recognisable spelling of Oakley ('oak clearing').
1367 Edward III confirmed the grant of the Manor of Cheltenham to Fecamp Abbey.
1370 Thomas, Lord Berkeley, described as having 'a large vineyard' which he tended with great care.
1372 'Coldham' ('Cold Water Meadow') original name for Coltham, Charlton Kings.
1375 Naunton recorded as 'Newenton' - 'newly founded farmstead or hamlet'.
1380 Documentary evidence of corn growing in ridge & furrow of Bull Hill & Lucas Hill, Charlton Kings
1383 First surviving Court Rolls shows the bailiff of the borough emerging as a recognised official.
1386/7 Ashley Manor, Charlton Kings, sold to William Grevill, a wool merchant.
1388 First record of Cudnall Mill as 'Codenhullesmulle', Charlton Kings.
1389 Alstone recorded as 'Aluuston'.
1391 Cops Elm, Charlton Kings, conveyed to John Coppe & reflected in present Copt Elm Road.
1393 Deep-street (Prestbury) first recorded - known as 'Depstrete' by 1575.
1395 First mention of 'Laverham' - later Latheram Meadows - the area west of St George's Place and south of St James' Square.
1398 Scop Street, Prestbury first noted - possibly indicating shops near the Burgage.
1399 'Merschyate' (Marsh Gate) may refer to common land called The Marsh' north of Swindon Road.
1401 Charlton Park purchased by John Grevill (Snr), wool merchant and Lord of Ashley (a sub-manor carved out of Cheltenham in the 12th century) and the estate was owned by the Grevills for the next three centuries. During this lengthy tenure the house was referred to at least once as Forden Court, but more usually The Forden. In 1440 it held 36 acres.
1401 The Bishop of Hereford held an inquiry into 'poaching in ye village of Prestbury'.
1403 Charlton field named Brodecroft, later called Crabbe-end, documented.
1414 Act of Parliament returned all English properties held by foreign abbeys to the Crown - thus ending Fecamp's connection with Cheltenham.
1414 Henry V conferred the Manor of Cheltenham to his aunt Elizabeth of Huntingdon, who leased it to the Convent of Syon (at Isleworth, Middlesex).
1421 A pension recorded, linked to a house in Cudnall, Charlton Kings.
1423 Henry VI ratified his father's grant of the Manor of Cheltenham to Syon.
1430 Moorend possibly recorded as 'Morezenescroft'.
1430 Fiddler's Green (known as 'Fythelers') first recorded.
1441 By an act passed this year, the 'lay people' of the 'Towne' of Cheltenham were released from local taxes on account of the poverty of the place.
1453 Wymondsclose, original name for Wymondsbrook (Wyman's Brook) first noted.
1459 New 'Halle & Crosse-Chamber' was built within the site of the Manor of Cheltenham.
1459 Deed confirmed all land called Holbeche in Charlton between Bretteshull, Newbreche & Truchenbreche (on the slope of Ham Hill).
1464 Prestbury Park recorded as 'parc de Presterburye'.
1464 Document referred to Pulleysende - future Pillymeade (Pilley).
1466 Sir Maurice Berkeley purchased the lease of the Manor of Cheltenham.
1468 Up to this time, Cheltenham returned two members to Parliament. The practice was discontinued in consequence of a petition to Queen Elizabeth I from the inhabitants complaining of the expense.
1471 Edward IV passed through Cheltenham via the Old Bath Road on the eve of the Battle of Tewkesbury - part of the 'Wars of the Roses'.
1473 The village of Prestbury called 'Prestbury borough'.
1486 Eleanor Giffard married John Norwood who became Lord of Leckhampton Manor.
1500 Five water mills are working in Charlton Kings: Sandford, Cudnall, Ham, Bafford, and Dowdeswell
1507 Date on keystone of the arch of an old 'church-house' or poorhouse which existed at the entrance to the Parish Churchyard (Chester Walk).
1507 "....a longe towne havynge a Market...there is a brook on the South side of the Towne" (John Leland's description on a visit to Cheltenham).
1516 Richard Pate, founder of the Grammar School, born in the town.
1535 Manor of Cheltenham produced an annual income of £79. 1s. 8d. for the Convent of Syon.
1539 Syon dissolved by Henry VIII and Manor of Cheltenham became Crown property again - leased to Lord Andrew Wyndsor.
1540 Manor of Redgrove granted to William Lygon of Arle.
1541 Reinaldus Lane became the first incumbent & curate of the Parish Church after the dissolution of the monasteries.
1541 The small river of 'Swilgate' possibly applied to Mill Brook, Prestbury by this time.
1547 Manor of Cheltenham reverted back to the Crown and administered by Thomas Dutton.
1547 Edward VIs Commissioners reported that because there was no parish school, chantry priest Edward Grove was charged by covenant to teach the children of the parish.
1547 'In ye paryshe of Cheltenham, where are of howselinge people 600'
1548 Population of Cheltenham 600.
1549 Timbercombe, Charlton Kings, (timber valley) known by this date.
1550 Home Farm, Little Herberts, Charlton Kings, first mentioned.
1550 Edward VI granted William Baghot 'A certain mill and close called Hyde and a way in and out for animals, carriages and horses through Prestbury Park'.
1551 Robert Elkins, Vicar of Prestbury, embezzled money due to the freemen in village.
1554 Manor of Cheltenham leased to Roger Lygon of Arle Court.
1557 John Stubbs' list of all tenants in Cheltenham and Ashley showed who were allowed to inclose their land proportionate to their holdings.
1557 Balcarras House, Charlton Kings, was in existence as a farmhouse by this date.
1558 Queen Elizabeth 1st became Lady of the Manor of Cheltenham
1562 Giles Grevill the younger comes of age, inheriting Forden House, (Charlton Park), a timber built medieval house (with no upper floor) now holding 47 acres; the Grevills still being lords of the manor of Ashley. Grevill set about repairing and updating the timber framed house which sat on three sides of a courtyard. In the 1560s the hall would have been the functional centre of the old 'hall-house' that sits at the heart of St Edward's School main building today, and some of the early timbers can still be seen within it.
1565 The tobacco plant was brought to England and planted in Cheltenham and 'yielded considerable produce and profit to the inhabitants'. (See 'Book' where the 1746 map of Charlton Park indicates tobacco was grown close to Forden House)
1558 Queen Elizabeth I became Lady of the Manor of Cheltenham.
1560 Manor of Prestbury passed to Elizabeth I.
1561 Edward Barthiam was ordered to open the sluices 3 days each week for cleaning the street in Cheltenham.
1563 Prestbury villagers protested to the Church Court at Gloucester that the vicar "held ye services at inconvenient times".
1564 Queen Elizabeth I granted the lease of Prestbury Manor to Sir Thomas Chamberlayne
1564 The Council in the Marches of Wales gave permission for Charlton Kings tenants to fence three acres of every twenty acres held.
1565 The tobacco plant was first brought to England & planted in Cheltenham Parish and 'yielded considerable produce and profit to the inhabitants'. It is thought that Sir Walter Raleigh's friendship with Richard Pate led to the establishment of the Cheltenham tobacco plantations.
1565 The place-name Hewletts recorded as 'Howletts'.
1570 Collum St, Leckhampton, known by its current name of 'Church Rd'.
1572 Foundation stone laid to Grammar School in High Street by Richard Pate.
1574 Queen Elizabeth I leased the Manor of Cheltenham to Sir John Woolley.
1575 Hyde Brook (Prestbury) named after Hyde Farm.
1575 'Overtowne' (Noverton, Prestbury) - meaning: 'farmstead on the bank' or 'upper village' - documented; probably land given to Llanthony Abbey in 12th century.
1575 Lynworth existed as a field-name ('flax enclosure').
1575 Whitehill Farm, Prestbury first noted.
1575 'Watershuttfilde' ('a rush of water') sited near Watershoot Close Prestbury.
1578 Richard Pate's Grammar School (Lower High St) & Alms Houses (High St, near Rodney Road) for 6 needy people, which included chapel, orchard & courtyard, opened.
1582 Improvements made to Leckhampton Court by the Norwood family.
1585 A mill operated at Bafford, Charlton Kings.
1586 Well Lane (probably early name for Henrietta St) was boundary for Pate's charity burgage.
1586 Walnut Tree Close (west of Ambrose St) was part of Pate's original charity estate.
1587 Llantony Secunda Priory surrendered its lands at Prestbury to the King's Commissioners.
1597 Rents of half-burgage land where Elmstone St (Lower High St) stands were given to repair Elmstone Hardwicke Church.
1597 First reference to 'Strowdes Lane' (Charlton Kings).
1599 Vineyards Farm, Charlton Kings known as 'Le Wyniards' by this date.
1599 Bafford Mill, Charlton Kings, had become a farm.
1600 Welling Farm, Charlton Kings, first noted about this date.
1603 Lodowick Oaker Esq. gave the third bell to the Parish Church in Cheltenham.
1605 'Withyholt' (willow wood) first recorded, (Charlton Kings).
1605 'Ewenhill' former name to Ewen's Farm, (Charlton Kings).
1605 'Sapcombe' (soap makers valley) sited south-east of Charlton Kings.
1605 'Football Close' existed near present day Chester Walk (town centre).
1605 'Hill Field' recorded as an open field (St Mark's).
1605 'Bayshill' is recorded (formerly 'Beues Hill' & 'Bays Hill').
1605 'The Moores' was a place-name on the south side of Tewkesbury Rd.
1610 Buildings known as 'Smithes' adjacent to Forden House were acquired by the Grevills sometime before 1617 and become the estate's Home Farm.
1606 Reference to 'Kinges Ditches' - possibly dug in the Saxon period, defining boundary between the King's Manor of Cheltenham and the Manor of Swindon.
1606 Whaddon known as Whaddonfield.
1606 Swyndones Waye (Swindon Rd) - the road from Cheltenham to Swindon Village.
1606 Rowenfield ('aftermath field') name in use.
1606 Le Parrock ('park') - possible connection with the c19 Park Estate.
1608 A list of occupations showed that the population was c1000.
1608 Small Manor of Redgrove (Arle) absorbed into Arle Manor.
1611 First recorded theatrical event in Cheltenham when Guy Dobbins was fined for marching up and down banging a drum & calling townsfolk to see a play at the Crown Inn.
1612 Sir Baptist Hicks bought the licence of the rectory of Cheltenham.
1616 King James I granted Redgrove to the Corporation of the City of Gloucester.
1617 Norden's Survey for the Royal Manor of Cheltenham commissioned by James I identified 62 separate burgage tenants.
1617 A settlement existed at Hewletts, overlooking Oakley, where oak woods had gone, having been a great source of timber for the medieval Manor of Cheltenham.
1617 Gutterfall ('Waterfall on a stream called Gutter') former name for Glenfall, Charlton Kings.
1617 The Reddings, an area name, currently in use.
1617 Warden's Hill known.
1617 Ham Mill, Charlton Kings, was still active.
1617 Bouncer's Gate (Bouncer's Lane) known.
1619 To grow tobacco in England was proclaimed illegal, undermining growth in the colonies but farmers and Justice of the Peace resisted warrants to destroy local crops
1625 Town's name spelt 'Cheltenham' for the first time.
1643 Three weeks of snow & very strong winds caused houses to be blown down.
1643 Parliamentarians under Earl of Essex occupied Prestbury Manor after skirmish with the Royalists.
1643 King Charles I visited Cubberley (Cobberley) whilst royal army was stationed near Cheltenham.
1650 Meerstones (Merestones) meaning: 'boundary stone' recorded as boundary between Cheltenham and Leckhampton.
1652 Act passed prohibiting the planting of tobacco in England '....which affected the interests of many persons in Gloucestershire'. (House of Commons minutes).
1653 'Three pence upon every pound of tobacco planted in the County of Gloucester to be paid by the planters to the use of the Commonwealth'. (House of Commons minutes).
1653 'A bill passed allowing the English planters in Gloucestershire to enjoy the English Tobacco by them planted this year only without interruption'. (House of Commons minutes).
1654 Pillared Market House built in middle of Cheltenham High Street.
1658 Troop of 36 horse sent to Cheltenham from Gloucester to destroy tobacco plantations, driven back by inhabitants.
1658 Records of the Religious Society of Friends (Quakers) offer evidence of followers being in Cheltenham by this date.
1662 There were 815 hearths in Cheltenham affected by the 'Hearth Tax'.
1666 Special collection made at Leckhampton Court 'for late sad fire in City of London'.
1667 Poor's Ground purchased, situated near Shackles Turnpike (Hewlett Rd).
1670 Cheltenham was one of 23 Preparative Meetings of Quakers.
1675 Cheltenham described as populated by people 'much given to plant tobacco, though they are suppressed by authority'.
1675 First record of appointment of highway surveyors by the Vestry.
1675 In a 'Geography' of this year, is a reference to Cheltenham as 'in extent six furlongs: numbers near 200 houses'.
1676 First attempt since the Civil War to repair St Mary's Church at Prestbury.
1678 The Quaker, George Fox, addressed 'a large gathering' in Cheltenham.
1683 George Townsend left £4 yearly 'for teaching poor children to read and write' in the Parish of Cheltenham (school established in room above north porch of Parish Ch).
1685 Old Coxhorne (London Rd, Charlton Kings) recorded.
1685 Giles Pain listed as 'Constable' in Leckhampton Parish.
1686 Settlement at Tatchley, Prestbury, by this date.
1689 Before his death, Col. Henry Norwood gave money for five bells in Leckhampton Church.
1690 John Prinn (soon of Charlton Park) Steward of the Manor of Cheltenham and from records of this date the 'Lord' was allowed to erect 'gallows, pillories and tumbrel, for the punishment and judgement of malefactors' the latter article being a 'ducking stool' for the cure of scolding women.
1691 Brizill (Brisedon & Brizen Farm) mentioned.
1692 'Cheltenham, alias Chiltenham, alias Cheltham, is a Towne situated on ye north side of a small purling Silver Stream or Rivulet called Chilt.....It is an ancient Market Towne....which is one Street continued with the buildings on each side for a full mile in length...Albeit not a Corporation, yet is a very ancient Burrough abounding in Sundrey Privileges.' (John Prinn - the first attempt to record a History of Cheltenham).
1697 Entry in Vestry Books of the issue of new coinage and calling in the old.
1697 Crab Bridge, crossing the Hearne Brook at Charlton Kings first mentioned.
1698 Prestbury Manor dismantled and some of its stone used to repair St Mary's Church.
1699 Three-hourly chime-bells erected in Parish Church, Cheltenham, and set to the tune of the 113th Psalm.
1701 John Prinn (Snr) purchases the timber-framed Forden House and Old Park from the Grevills for £725. He built a new drive to the west over what was probably called Prinn's Meadow and installed or continued to maintain existing Dutch-style water gardens and planted many trees. After 1701 the next four generations of the Prinn family continued to expand the estate and when William Hunt Prinn inherited it in 1803 it included some eight farms in the parish of Charlton Kings run by tenant farmers.
1700 Quaker Burial Ground established in Grove Street.
1701 Baptist Chapel built on the north side of Manchester Walk.
1702 Rev. Francis Wells, vicar of Prestbury, opened the first parish school.
1703 Quaker Meeting House, sited in vicinity of former Shaftsbury Hall Theatre, was licensed.
1703 Great storm occurred damaging the Parish Church and most houses in the town.
1704 William Mason, Cheltenham Hosier, purchased Bayshill Field.
1709 and in years following; John Prinn undertook a lengthy programme of improvements to the house, extending it by joining the two Cotswold-style gables together which met with a common centre roof gulley, adding a new western block in 1732.
1709 believed when John Prinn had his Eagle Gates erected where his drive entered Sandy Lane and the fairly new arched 'carriage' bridge on a 'New Carriage Way', (today's Moorend Road) from Sandy Lane to Charlton Kings, was upgraded.
1710 Land Tax:
Cheltenham (4301 acres) £228.4s 0d.
Charlton (3499 acres) £208.11s.3d.
Leckhampton £94.4s.
Swindon £53.9s.
Arle £77.4s.4d.
Alston £46.13s.
Westhall, Naunton, Sandford £59.1s8d.
1712 Cheltenham described as 'a town much engaged in the malt trade'.
1712 Population estimated at 1500 inhabitants with 321 houses.
1712 Naunton, together with Sandford had 5 houses; Alstone, a hamlet of 30 houses.
1712 550 inhabitants lived in Charlton Kings.
1713 George Townsend's Charity School at Parish Church was re-endowed by Lady Capel & became known as 'Cheltenham Old Charity School'.
1715 An eclipse of the sun was seen in Cheltenham.
1716 Accidental discovery of mineral waters at Old Wells in Cheltenham; Mr Mason bought spring from Mr Charles Higgs of Charlton Kings and built his rustic 'well house'.
1719 Lady Capel's endowment to Cheltenham Old Charity School ensured its continuing existence a parish church school and it became the oldest primary school in Cheltenham.
1720 The famous purging mineral waters of Cheltenham advertised.
1721 Sir John Dutton gave a fire-engine for the use of the town; stored in the north porch of the Parish Church.
1721 The mineral spring was leased to a Mr Spencer at an annual rental of £61.
1723 Albion Street Chapel built about this date (opposite Pate's Almshouses).
1725 The Swan Inn was built on the corner of Winchcombe Street, opposite The Plough Inn (High Street).
1726 Tewkesbury Road Turnpiked by Cheltenham's oldest Turnpike Trust.
1729 The Charity School was held in a room above the north porch of St Mary's Parish Church.
1730 The Old Chapel (Meekings Passage - a narrow entry off High St where Pittville St now is) was built about this date for the Presbyterians. Demolished in 1824 when Pittville St was constructed.
1731 Mr Mason's daughter married Henry Skillicorne (ranked as real founder of Cheltenham Spa) who developed the site on the lines of the Hotwells in Clifton Gorge, Bristol.
1731 Hailstones, the size of tennis balls fell, killing livestock and causing £2,000 worth of damage to property. (The equivalent of about £172,000 today, and this figure then applied to a much smaller number of local properties - source: National Archives).
1732 New South Wing of Forden House completed with this date left in masonry and timbers
1732 Prestbury's open fields and common land were enclosed.
1734 John Prinn (Snr) buried at St Mary's C.K. His son, Rev John Prinn succeeds him.
1735 Thomas Price, Gloucester publisher & bookseller, was first recorded bookseller in Cheltenham with premises at the 'New Inn' High Street.
1736 Lyfield (Charlton Kings) known by this name.
1736 Lady Frances Stapleton built the 'Great House' about this date on the site of the former medieval Manor House, which became the earliest of the new fashionable lodging houses.
1738 The Well was first called 'The Cheltenham Spa' & Capt. Skillicorne built a modest Pump Room.
1738 The first coach or 'flying machine' from Cheltenham to London, advertised to accomplish the journey, 'if God permitted, in the short space of three days.'
1738 The old Vineyard newly built, Timbercombe Lane, Charlton Kings.
1738 'Red Acre Piece' (nearly equates to Montpellier Gardens) - a Westall field name.
1739 About now, Capt Skillicorne made Upper Well Walk with 37 elm & lime trees.
1740 About now, Capt. Skillicorne made Lower Well Walk, planting 96 Elm Trees.
1740 Dr Short's analysis of the town's spa water found it 'superior to any in the country'.
1740 Old Sandy Lane, known as 'Sandshards' currently used, running east to west from Aggs Hill, via Harp Hill, North Hewlett Rd, St Paul's Rd & Swindon Rd.
1740s (exact year unknown) Thomas Robins is commissioned to create his magnificent oil painting of Charlton Park (it now hangs in Cheltenham Museum & Art Gallery).
1742 Cudgel matches were held outside the Plough Inn - the best man won a guinea and a new hat.
1742 Henry Skillicorne deepened the Well, laid out a 'paved court' & replaced the wooden shelter with a brick one. There were 667 subscribers to the Well.
1743 About this time, Henry Skillicorne, assisted by Norborne Berkeley, had a total of 900 elms planted by local surveyor, Mr Andrews, creating the famous avenue - Old Well Walk, incorporating the Well and an arched canopy on the lower slopes of Bayshill.
1743 An effigy of 'The Pretender' was burnt.
1743 Town's visitors 'number about 600 persons, of great fortunes and gentility' (Morning Post).
1743 Prestbury Way was used to denote Prestbury Road.
1743 Reference made to the 'Pelican Inn near Lord's Mead' (Royal Well area).
1743 Charity school established at Charlton Kings.
1743 Forden House left by the Rev John Prinn to his son William Prinn.
1744 John Wesley visited Cheltenham for the first time and it is said that he preached at the Preaching Cross in the churchyard, where he addressed one of the largest audiences ever assembled there.
1744 Unknown actress Sarah Siddons performed in Cheltenham.
1745 The 'Crown Inn' was described as having stabling for 'an hundred horses'. A few years previous, 'The Swan' was described in a similar advert as having 'stables for upwards of sixty horses, stalled and bailed and coach-houses answerable'.
1746 The actor David Garrick took the waters at Cheltenham.
1746 Estate Map made for William Prinn shows several larger farms belonging to Charlton Park and a drawing of 'South West Prospect' of the house. The accompanying schedule shows the whole estate now holds some 910 acres and nearby Withyholt Farm has become the Home Farm.
1748 A peel of bells first hung in the tower of St Mary's Church, Prestbury.
1749 'Anne, wife of Richard King of Charlton Kings, Cordwainer, eloped from her husband - do not trust her to pay no debts'. (Gloucester Journal).
1749 Dr Johnson was a visitor to the town and in subsequent editions of 'The Rambler' made frequent mention of the scenery round Cheltenham.
1750 East and North sides of the timber framed hall-house rebuilt with brick.
1755 New Brew House and Cider Mill installed in Charlton Park.
1756 Opening of the Old Gloucester Road; London Road first turnpiked.
1757 A Cock Match by subscription was fought in Cheltenham Street by the Gentlemen of Gloucestershire.
1758 Cheltenham's first recorded theatre opened in a converted malthouse in Coffee House Yard, off Pittville Street.
1758 "Mr Williams' company of Comedians is arrived in Cheltenham and will act three times this season". (Gloucester Journal).
1759 Richard Belcher surrendered the water grist mill at Charlton & later, the old mill ceased grinding corn & became a leather mill called 'Leather Mill Pitch'. (Local people later attached this name to a nearby stretch of London Rd from Six-Ways into the dip).
1760 Thomas Gardner's Original Brewery first established in Fleece La (Henrietta St).
1763 A cold bath sited by the River Chelt (near St James' Sq) first recorded - disused by 1783.
1764 Methodists occupied Albion Street Chapel.
1766 William Prinn, who inherited Charlton Park in 1743, undertakes more major work, rebuilding the West Wing of the house and raising it to create a second chamber floor, extending the block with five windows on each side of the downstairs door to make it symmetrical and adding a brick façade and pediment over the west front. He also moved the kitchen garden to the rear of the house and fenced the deer park.
1766 Hatherley Lane (included present day Hatherley Rd) in existence, largely as market gardens.
1766 John Wesley returned to the Spa - nearly 22 years after his first visit.
1768 First noted reference to Skittle Alley (rear of present Marks & Spencer, High St).
1768 John Wesley preached again in Cheltenham.
1769 Town's population: 1,433
1769 During the spring, 170 people died from smallpox in Cheltenham - almost 12% of the town's population (equivalent to about 12,000 people today).
1770 John Surman bought a house of the present Swindon Hall.
1774 Mrs Sarah Siddons performed at the Playhouse - a converted malthouse in Coffee House Yard (Pittville Street).
1775 Henry Skillicorne's son, William, leased well to a Mr Miller of London and both built Cheltenham's first 'Long Room'.
1775 Trustees of the turnpike roads increased the toll from 2d to 3d.
1776 The 'Old Hereford' coach completed the journey from London to Cheltenham in 26 hours.
1776 Coates produced a plan of the town's roads leading from Arle Cross to Pilford La.
1777 The Cheltenham to Painswick road was developed.
1778 Act of Enclosure for Leckhampton was passed.
1780 The fame of the mineral waters having attracted 360 visitors, it was found necessary to elect a Master of Ceremonies - Simon Moreau.
1781 William Skillicorne built Fauconberg House for Lord Fauconberg, gentleman-in-waiting to King George III.
1781 It is possible that Simeon Mireau sponsored the first Cheltenham Guide, published in London, which stated that the town's population was 2,000
1781 Miss Ansell's private boarding school for girls & Mr Well's for boys had been established.
1782 John Watson opened a new theatre sited in Grosvenor Street.
1783 A coach now ran direct from Cheltenham to London in 18 hours.
1783 The first public conveyances in the town were two sedan chairs.
1784 First Ballroom, in a former dining room at Powers Court, replaced with new Assembly Room known as 'The Lower Room' built in the High St, between Bath Rd and Cambray Pl.
1784 William Prinn buried at St Mary's Charlton Kings. His widower son-in-law, Dodington Hunt, inherits the estate. The name 'Forden' falls away as the park and its mansion become known simply as 'Charlton Park'.
1784 First attempt to alter the course of the River Chelt down the centre of Cheltenham High Street.
1784 John Wesley preached in Cheltenham for the last time, when he could only muster 'half a houseful' and found them 'mostly cold and dead'.
1785 Extensive repairs carried out to the Baptist Chapel in Manchester Walk.
1786 "Until these few years the water ran through the middle of the street and in scarcity, stagnated and was offensive". (Cheltenham Guide).
1786 "Now there is an excellent road through the town, with a channel on each side for the water". (Longman's Guide to Watering Places).
1786 New road established from Cheltenham through Dowdeswell to Frogmill.
1786 58 Town & Paving Commissioners, appointed by Act of Parliament, held their first meeting at the Plough Inn/Hotel; they ordered the old Market House and Butter Cross to be demolished. Later a new Market House was built almost opposite North St.
1787 Some current Street names: Day's La. (Grove St.), Hambro's La. (Ambrose St.), Kent's La. ( St George's Pl.), Bannister's La. (Henrietta St.), Greyhound La. (North St.), St Leger's La/Bell La. (Winchcombe St.), 'Road to Alstone' (New St.)
1787 Earliest partial survey of the town by J Dance, showing Pate's Foundation properties in Cheltenham and Swindon Village.
1787 The Ram Inn on corner of High St & Henrietta St existed.
1787 Rooke's Ballroom (Southside of High St) - predecessor of Assembly Room, opened 1816.
1787 Freeman's Baths (Upper High St) established.
1787 Commissioners contract for the erection of 120 oil lamps in the town.
1787 First Sunday School held in room above porch in the Parish Church.
1788 The King's Well (or Royal Spa) was accidentally discovered whilst digging for a fresh water supply for Fauconberg House (Overton Rd) at the time of King George IIIs visit to Cheltenham.
1788 The King, with Queen Charlotte, the royal princesses and their sizeable retinue stayed at Fauconberg House, to which the king added 17 rooms at his own expense.
"In consequence of the overflow of Cheltenham, Tewkesbury and Prestbury are crowded......Cheltenham will be the summer village of all that is fashionable - the Cheltenham bonnets, Cheltenham buttons and Cheltenham buckles being quite the go - the fashions being completely 'Cheltenhamized' throughout the kingdom."  (Morning Post)
1788 During King George's stay in Fauconberg House, (Jul 12-Aug 16) with Queen Charlotte and five of their daughters, the King and his entourage visited Charlton Park as guests of Dodington Hunt (Prinn).
1788 Mrs Dorothy Jordan, the comedy actress and future mistress of King William IV performed in 'The Sultan' at the Theatre Royal (Grosvenor Terr) during George IIIs visit.
1788 Former town lock-up replaced by small gaol in Fleece Lane (later Henrietta St).
1789 Block of houses called 'St George's Place' built on east side of Sills Lane.
1789 Dr Edward Jenner visited the spa before moving here to live.
1790 Entry in Vestry Book reported birth of a 20th child to George & Hannah Fowler.
1791 Rev. Fowler installed the first known organ in the Parish Church
1791 First stone of Colonnade laid by Lord Fauconberg; first six shops in the Colonnade (N end of Promenade) opened later same year.
1792 Act of Parliament allowed the construction of a new canal from the River Severn to Coombe Hill which helped to develop the transport of materials.
1792 The road from Cheltenham to Winchcombe was turnpiked.
1793 Quarries at Leckhampton Hill were officially opened & the first known goods railway in the county, a plate track, was installed.
1793 In the winter, 3 wagons were trapped in snow between Cheltenham & Tewkesbury and all the drivers and horses perished.
1794 The Colonnade (High St end of the Promenade) was completed; originally planned to create 64 elegant houses along the length of the Promenade, to be 'the finest line of buildings that Europe can boast' (failed) and what they built was demolished in 1937.
1795 First Troop of the Gloucestershire Yeomanry Cavalry formed at the Plough Inn
1795 St Leger's Lane (formerly Bell Lane) renamed Winchcombe Street.
1795 Between 11 & 12 at night, a severe shock or earth tremor was felt in the town & neighbourhood. It was strong enough to crack the south tower wall of St Mary's Church, Prestbury.
1796 Coombe Hill Canal opened for barges up to 70 tons
1797 Population of town: 2,700 with 530 houses in the Cheltenham hundred.
1797 The Trye family became Lords of the Manor of Leckhampton.
1797 James Agg purchased the Hewletts Estate.
1798 'These High Street houses had balconies, for there was not a veranda in the whole town' (Fosbrooke - County Historian).
1798 Thomas Billings produced a map of the turnpike road from 'Gallows Oak' (London Rd/Hales Rd junction, to Withington.
1798 Edward Jenner returned to Cheltenham from London after unsuccessfully lunching the publication of his tract on cowpox vaccination.
1799 Part of Church Meadow purchased by Joseph Pitt, who had the Royal Crescent designed.
1799 John De la Bere purchased some of the Earl of Essex's land at Naunton.
1799 Application made to the Justices for a room in North St to be used as a temporary Catholic chapel.
1799 Sale of Earl of Essex's estates at Cheltenham, including much of the future Pittville.
1800 St James' St & Grosvenor St began to be developed about this date.
1800 A post-office opened at 127 High St. Sally Saunders ('Old Sally') often took 5 or 6 days to deliver letters, saying "...she had something else to do that to take a single letter to the bottom of the High Street".
1800 High St had only 9 turnings at this date: Winchcombe St & North St, Coffey House & Post Office Yards, St George pl & Portland Pl; Fleece Lane., Counsellor's Alley and Mrs Meaking's Passage.
1800 Shenton's Directory numbered houses in the High St & St George's Pl.
1800 'Royal Hotel' (High St) established by Thomas Haines and stood for over 100 years (site presently occupied by Beechwood Arcade).
1800 Samuel Seward's puppet theatre, known as the 'Sadlers Wells' (St George's Pl) opened.
1800 Earl of Essex sold to Charles Higgs land at Charlton Kings commonly called 'Battledons'.
1800 Recognition of Edward Jenner's vaccination was established and practised on four continents.
1800 The Prince of Wales attended a performance at Cheltenham's Theatre Royal.
1801 First official population census: 4,147 in the Cheltenham hundred.
1801 The Enclosure Act for Cheltenham was passed.
1801 400 acres of land on which Montpellier & Lansdown now stands was purchased by Henry Thompson from John De la Bere of Southam.
1801 Lord Suffolk's 30-acre Gallipot Farm was bought by John De la Bere for £2,800. It was re-sold for £14,000 as the original site of Suffolk Lawn, St James' Church & St Philip's Church.
1801 Mrs Byron & her son (the future poet) came to stay in Cheltenham before he went to Harrow.
1801 Canal proposed from Tewkesbury to Cheltenham failed for want of support.
1801 The original chalybeate well established by the miller William Barrett on the banks of the River Chelt, near Cheltenham Mill.
1802 Voluntary Infantry disbanded.
1802 Cambray Pl, Cambray St & Bath St began to be developed.
1802 Edward Jenner awarded £10,000 by Parliament for his discovery of an effective smallpox vaccination.
1803 Doddington Hunt buried at St Mary's Church, Charlton Kings. His son, William Hunt Prinn (whose mother Elizabeth died at his birth) succeeds to the estate. He further landscaped the park, and is believed to have replaced the Dutch Water Gardens with a lake.
1803 Cambray Field was laid out for building & development.
1803 Devil's Chimney (Leckhampton Hill) first seen mentioned in print.
1804 Hygeia House, home & spa served by Henry Thompson (Vittoria Walk) built & provided earliest accurately dateable ironwork in town.
1804 Dr Jameson's Well (known as Lord Sherborne's Well) was established about this time (Gordon Lamp).
1805 First Government Post Office established with one postman
1805 Royal Crescent under construction - not completed until 1825.
1805 Elmstone St laid out as a through-route from Lower High St to Grove St.
1805 Sir Arthur Wellesley (future Duke of Wellington) visited town to take the waters.
1805 'the town is built of brick and within the last 30 years [it] has been almost wholly renewed' (Browne's Cheltenham Guide).
1805 The cure of Sir Francis Burdett made the reputation of the Cambray Spa.
1805 Mr Watson, proprietor of the Cheltenham Theatre, built new theatre in Bath St, Cambray, named 'Theatre Royal'.
1806 Joseph Pitt purchased 'The Marsh', north of the town (future Pittville and St Paul's)
1806 Upper High Street terraces & villas began to be constructed about this time.
1806 Thompson's Baths (Bath Rd) built by Henry Thompson, opened with 14 warm baths & 1 large cold bath. (Later called 'Montpellier Baths).
1806 Orchard Well established (Royal Parade Mews).
1806 Arle House built by John C Welch about this date.
1806 Female Orphan Asylum & School of Industry founded under patronage of Queen Charlotte was established in High Street.
1806 Sherborne St & Pl, Rutland St (later named Brunswick St), Portland St, Gloucester Pl all established.
1806 Charlton Turnpike (begun at 'Gallows Oak', Hales Road/Old Bath Road) moved to Beaufort Arms, London Road.
1806 'Plan of Cheltenham' map produced by Edward Mitchell.
1806 Maidenhorn Turnpike (Junction St Paul's & Swindon Road) opened.
1806 Paving Commissioners defined town's limits: North - Winchcombe St turnpike; West Maidenhorn turnpike; East - Hales Rd; South - Sandford Rd & Montpellier Terr, Parabola Rd & Alstone Lane.
1807 Three more royal visitors came to Cheltenham this year.
1807 When two houses adjoining the ancient market place were pulled down, a massive stone was found with the date '1117' clearly legible. The remains of a Norman foundation of the same date were also discovered near the north porch of the Parish Church.
1807 Second chalybeate spring established at Fowler's Cottage (Rodney Road).
1807 French priest & language teacher, Abbe Nicholas Cesar became locum-teens in Cheltenham.
1808 Montpellier Wells opened
1808 Foundation stone laid of first modern Market House in Lower High St.
1808 Foundation stone laid to independent Cheltenham Chapel (St George's Square).
1809 A well was established at Octagon Turret, Montpellier Field - probably opened by Henry Thompson. Mr Thompson established another well at Montpellier Spa, with a wooden building. (Became a stone building in 1817; today's Lloyds Bank, Montpellier)
1809 Line of trees created in Montpellier Walk about this time.
1809 The Essex Well (1 Rotunda Terr) & Bestcroft Meadow Well (1 Lansdown Pl) established. King's Well or Royal Well (Overton Rd) shut by this date.
1809 Town's poor relocated to purpose-built workhouse in Workhouse Lane (Knapp La).
1809 St James' Square under construction.
1809 Parish boundaries perambulated.
1809 Gloucester to Cheltenham Railway or Tramway Act passed.
1809 Henry Ruff established first local newspaper 'The Cheltenham Chronicle'.
1809 Alstone Mineral Spring first discovered & pump room erected over it.
1809 Rev John Birdsall OSB arrived as Catholic missionary in Cheltenham.
1809 George IIIs golden jubilee celebrated with a public dinner at the Town Hall.
1809 Abbe Cesar handed over mission to Rev. Birdsall, first Mass in Weaver's Hall.
1809 First stone of Cheltenham to Gloucester tram-road laid by Earl of Suffolk.
1809 Col. Berkeley brought his hounds to Cheltenham from Berkeley Castle.
1809 First brick laid to Catholic Chapel on land off Somerset Pl. (S of Ambrose St).
1810 The 'first fly' public conveyance was introduced, but was a failure.
1810 Blocks of dressed stone cost 1 penny per ton (including delivery by tramway).
1810 King Street established about this date (off Lower High St).
1810 Act sought to construct a new road from Albion St to Bishops Cleeve to join turnpike at Evesham.
1810 William Taylor of Cheltenham (a butcher) was convicted of killing a fallow deer whilst poaching in Charlton Park.
1810 Henry Thompson manufactured 'Cheltenham Salts' from about this date.
1810 Town Commissioners licensed ten Sedan 'cars'.
1810 Thomas Henney opened a circulating library in High St, near to the Plough Hotel.
1810 Small purpose-built Catholic Chapel opened.
1810 Cheltenham & Leckhampton Tramway opened.
1810 Centre House - 'being then in the centre of High St' - advertised
1811 Second official population census; 9,734 in the Cheltenham hundred.
1811 Another Estate Map records Charlton Park's acreage at 72 acres.
1811 Exiled French Royalists visited Cheltenham: Duchess of Angouleme (daughter of Louis XVI & Marie Antoinette) & her husband, Louis of Orleans - future Louis XVIII.
1811 Three of Napoleon's generals, on parole as prisoners of war, visited the town.
1811 Site of old Alms Houses in High St sold for £250; the purchaser then resold the site for £2,000. (The equivalent of turning £8,490 into £67,920 today).
1811 The 'Original Stone-eater' exhibited at the Bell Inn in High Street.
1811 At a meeting of the Gloucestershire Vaccine Association in Cheltenham, Dr Edward Jenner offered to give a piece of ground in town and erect a building for the purpose of a Vaccine Institute.
1811 Ruff's Regent Gardens opened (Regent St) similar to Vauxhall Gardens, London.
1811 Tram-road which ran from Gloucester Quay to the Wharf at bottom of the High St was publicly opened & linked to the Leckhampton quarry railway.
1811 'A strawberry was plucked this week in the gardens of Lady Lindsey in Cambray which measured 4 and 5/8 inches across'.
1812 Pate's Alms Houses adjoining the Royal Hotel, High St, taken down and rebuilt in Albion Street.
1812 Possible date when surveying of all new constructions began.
1812 Lord Byron stayed 6 months in Cheltenham at 450 High St (by Barrett's Mill Lane).
1812 Bill to establish the Cheltenham & Cotswold Railway, a 12 mile tramroad from Leckhampton Hill to Lower Guiting (Guiting Power) failed.
1812 Mrs Sarah Siddons' farewell performance in Cheltenham as Lady Macbeth.
1813 Poor house sited at entrance to churchyard in Chester Walk demolished. The keystone of the arch to this building had the date '1507' inscribed on it.
1813 Fleece Lane Gaol replaced by larger one in New Street.
1813 Visitors to Cheltenham included future Louis XVIII & Charles X of France
1813 William Barrett, owner of Barrett's Mill, formerly known as Cheltenham or Cambray Mill - had to permit water to flow 'as heretofore' down the High St.
1813 The town established a fire service.
1813 Hygeia House, Montpellier, renamed Vittoria House (in Vittoria Walk).
1813 First meeting of the 'Cheltenham Dispensary for Administering to the Poor Sick, Advice & Medicine Gratis; & for Promoting of Vaccination'.
1813 The Cheltenham Medical Dispensary & Casualty Ward in High St opened.
1813 Bath Road through to Cambray opened.
1813 Balloon ascent from Tramway Wharf by Mr Sadler's 16 years old son (Mr Sadler was too heavy). He landed at Chipping Norton. Large crowds came to watch & many were unable to find lodgings & were forced to remain in the streets all night.
1813 Only 4 of the 272 patients attending the Dispensary since its opening had died (between March 6 and October 7).
1814 Charlton Kings Church officially became a separate ecclesiastical parish.
1814 Harward's Library closed with 'near 30,000 volumes'.
1814 First public meeting of Cheltenham Philosophical & Literary Society.
1814 Sarah Humphries buried in the cross-road for committing suicide (last such cross-road burial in the Cheltenham neighbourhood).
1814 Meeting in Town Hall to form the first British & Foreign Bible Society.
1814 A 5-foot parsnip was dug up in the garden of Mr Bachelor at the Greyhound Inn.
1815 Napoleon's sister-in-law, ex-Queen of Wurtemberg, came to Cheltenham.
1815 Colonel Berkeley established the Berkeley Hunt's Kennels at North Place.
1815 Claimed date of the establishment of the 'Cheltenham Gun Manufactory'.
1815 First Cheltenham Race Meeting was held on Nottingham Hill.
1815 Henrietta St (formerly Fleece Lane) renamed & developed about this time.
1815 A C William purchased Liddell's Library & established 'William's Library' the following year as part of the new Assembly Rooms. It became Cheltenham's foremost circulating library & bookshop.
1816 Small house let in the High St cost ten times as much as in1796.
1816 Two Roman urns filled with ashes & many coins found while laying a High St drain
1816 First Provident Society for the relief of the poor founded in Cheltenham.
1816 Russian Grand Duke Nicholas visited the town.
1816 Jane Austen had a three week stay in Cheltenham.
1816 Montpellier Salts Manufactory established in Montpellier Baths, Bath Road.
1816 Cheltenham Vaccination Convention opened.
1816 School using the monitorial system of education (i.e. National School) was temporarily begun at the Old Town Hall.
1816 Duke of Orleans (future King Louis Philippe) visited the town.
1816 Duke & Duchess of Wellington formally opened the Assembly Rooms.
1816 Sir Stamford Raffles, founder of Singapore, spent a month in Cheltenham.
1816 Foundation stone of National School-room laid in Bath Road by William Prinn to replace temporary school at Old Town Hall.
1817 Cheltenham's first museum, Mawe & Tatlows, opened in Montpellier.
1817 Freemason's Hall erected in Portland St at a cost of £4,000
1817 New stone built Montpellier Spa Long Room replaced the earlier wooden structure.
1817 Grand Duke Michael of Russia visited Cheltenham.
1817 First National School opened in Bath Rd with 370 children.
1817 Formation of the Cheltenham branch of the Wesleyan Foreign Missions.
1818 Cheltenham Races first held on Cleeve Hill.
1818 Cheltenham Gas Company was formed giving gas lighting - amongst earliest provincial ventures in gas lighting in England. Gas Works established in Lower Mill St and gas lighting was introduced in the High Street.
1818 Young Ladies Academy at Charlton Villa (now Ashley Firs) Charlton Kings opened
1818 The South Town area, around Bath Rd & Gt. Norwood St began to be developed.
1818 First stone of Sherborne Pump Room laid (later the Queen's Hotel site).
1818 River Chelt flooded causing great damage.
1818 Laying out of the Promenade as a drive to the Sherborne Spa began.
1818 Whilst digging a hole near the Turnpike in Bath Rd, labourers found a perfectly preserved jar with some 1000 Roman copper & silver coins in it.
1818 Cheltenham Races first held on Cleeve Hill.
1818 Savings Bank established in Cheltenham.
1819 First ever Cheltenham Gold Cup flat race (three miles) held on Cleeve Hill.
1819 Samuel Bettison produced his plan of Cheltenham.
1819 Royal assent given to bill 'for lighting with gas the town & parish of Cheltenham'.
1819 Three-day horse racing established on Cleeve Hill under the patronage of the Duke & Duchess of Gloucester; and the first ever Cheltenham Gold Cup weight flat race for age run over three miles.
1820 Population of Charlton Kings; 2,479.
1820 Hon. Katherine Monson, mistress builder, began building St Margaret's Terrace.
1820 E Cossen's 'Post Office' map of Cheltenham published.
1820 First Cheltenham British School opened in North Place (beneath North Pl chapel).
1820 Artisan area of South Town ( Bath Road) had begun to be developed.
1820 Clarence Hotel (Crescent Terr.) Belle Vue Hotel (Upper High St.) & Albion Brewery (Gloucester Rd) established about this time.
1820 Paving Commissioners ordered all streets, etc, to be named & numbered. High St numbers revised - continuously east-west along north side & back along south side.
1821 Third official population census: 15,522 in Cheltenham hundred.
1821 William Hunt Prinn died without children, Charlton Park passed to his cousin George Bragge Prowse, who took the additional name Prinn. He too had no children and it passed to Jane Eliza, wife of Sir William Russell, 1st baronet, then to a second son Sir William, 2nd baronet (1833-1892).
1821 Third Cheltenham Paving & Improvement Act passed, repealing the Act of 1806 & providing for elections of 48 Commissioners. The Act included the re-siting of the market
1821 Parker's Swimming & Bathing Place newly built off Bath Road.
1821 First spring-fly van started from Cheltenham to London; journey completed in 2 days (previously four-wheeled wagons took 4 days).
1821 George IV visited the town during a royal progress.
1822 Duffield & Weller's Literary Saloon opened in High Street.
1822 R E & C Marshall's manufacturing firm of ironwork established.
1822 The Bath Road opened through Shurdington & Painswick.
1822 Messrs Griffiths & Green ascended in a balloon - the first in Cheltenham to be inflated with common gas.
1822 Visit of Prince & Princess of Denmark.
1822 New Market House with Arcade opened in Bennington Street.
1823 The villas & terraces of The Promenade began to be developed.
1823 Development of James Fisher's Suffolk Estate & Square began.
1823 Charles Hales Jessop laid out his 20-acre nursery (off St James' Square).
1823 The lease for the Cheltenham steeplechase course dates from this year.
1823 Building of Thirlstaine House, Bath Road, began.
1823 Oriel Lodge built
1823 Imperial Hotel established in Lower Promenade (where the Post Office was later).
1823 Cheltenham saw the arrival of "4 Dukes, 3 Duchesses, 6 Marquises, 5 Marchionesses, 4 Bishops, 10 Earls. 8 Countesses, 53 Lords, 70 Ladies, besides a host of honourables, Baronets & titled foreigners and other persons of distinction' (John Goding - Cheltenham's first historian).
1823 Cheltenham's parish boundary walked for first time in 100 years. It took 2 days and exceeded 26 miles.
1823 Hon Katherine Monson of North Place agreed not to re-offend by burn bricks on her land.
1823 Duke of Wellington made his third visit to Cheltenham, staying several weeks at Cambray House.
1823 The Masonic Hall, with first Lodge, designed by George Underwood, was opened.
1823 Cheltenham Journal first appeared.
1824 Population of Cheltenham 17,647.
1824 Systematic development of Joseph Pitt's Pittville Estate & Pearson Thompson's Lansdown & Montpellier Estates began, which included a new road into Cheltenham from Gloucester (Lansdown Road).
1824 Pittville Street constructed by widening a narrow alleyway called Portland Passage.
1824 Two year construction of Columbia Place (Winchcombe St) began. (In 1776 it was known as Bell Lane from the Bell Inn on High St corner).
1824 First reservoir built near Hewletts held 413,000 gallons.
1824 Rev. Francis Close established a Sunday School in an old farmhouse in Alstone.
1824 Academy for Young Gentlemen at Ham House, Charlton Kings.
1824 New peal of 8 bells erected in Parish Church.
1824 Under the Cheltenham Water Act 1824, a private water company was formed & piped water installed in the town.
1824 The Cheltenham Journal was first published.
1825 Population census: 19,160 with 3,464 houses in Cheltenham hundred.
1825 Rotunda dome added to Montpellier Spa by John Papworth.
1825 Development of Coneygree Field (Fairview) area began.
1825 Essex Lodge or Little Spa established at corner of Pittville Lawn & Central Cross Drive.
1825 'Harward's Buildings' designed by George Underwood built as private residences completed.
1825 The Priory (London Rd) built - became residence of C H Marshall, the town's Master of Ceremonies'.
1825 Horticultural Society first formed, with exhibition held at Imperial Square.
1825 St Margaret's Terrace, (St Margaret's Rd) was completed.
1825 Work began on constructing Portland Square.
1825 County of Gloucester Bank (High St) built about this date.
1825 Royal ascent given to an Act improving road between Cheltenham and Gloucester.
1825 A Sunday school was started in Charlton Kings.
1825 Engineer, Thomas Telford, built the New London Road (from Hayward's Rd to Six Ways, Charlton Kings) by-passing Cudnall Street.
1825 Town Commissioners set up a night watch about this date. It was to develop into the town's police force.
1825 'A woman of the name of Barnes was exhibited for sale...no purchaser was found'.
1825 Foundation stone laid by Joseph Pitt to the Pittville Pump Room.
1825 First Mechanics' Institute formed.
1825 Gas lighting installed in Montpellier Parade.
1825 Foundation stone laid at St James Church, Suffolk Square.
1825 National banking & financial crisis caused serious 5-year hold-up in town's building activity.
1826 Population census: 21,376 with 4,027 houses in Cheltenham hundred.
1826 The new Cirencester Road from Cheltenham is cut through the former farmyard in Charlton Park; dry stone wall erected from the River Chelt at Cudnall bridge to Lilleybrook bridge in Moorend Road and this road extended so that the three public roads near the house can be closed, two becoming the back and front drives. The front drive - old 'Hollow Lane' (to the Cirencester Rd) is believed to have once formed part of the boundary between the King's land to the left (Cheltenham) side and Walter de Ashley's to the right.
1826 The façade to the Plough Hotel, possibly designed by George Underwood built about this time.
1826 The workhouse at Prestbury was completed.
1826 Earliest reference to the 'Napoleon' fountain sited at the Sherborne/Imperial Spa (where the Queen's Hotel was later built)
1826 Field House Academy for Young Ladies existed at the Burgage, Prestbury.
1826 Thomas Edwards gave a building to be used as a school for poor children of Prestbury parish.
1826 The direct coach journey from London to Cheltenham took 10½ hours.
1826 Thomas Clark & William Debenham opened a branch of their London draper's business - Cheltenham's oldest departmental store (later Cavendish House).
1826 First ball held at the Rotunda.
1826 William Cobbett rode into Cheltenham.
1826 James Fisher began developing Suffolk Square.
1826 Rev. Francis Close inducted the 'perpetual curacy' of Parish Church.
1826 Sir Walter Scott arrived to take a course of mineral waters.
1827 Snow's Chapel (Grosvenor St) re-opened as Highbury Congregational Church.
1827 Paragon Buildings, Bath Road, completed.
1827 Rev. Francis Close opened newly-built school room as a combined infant & Sunday school in Alstone Lane.
1827 First Catholic school opened annexed to the chapel.
1827 Rev. Close's sermon 'The Evil Consequences of attending the Race Course Exposed' began lively discussion over horse racing which split Cheltenham in two.
1827 Workhouse built at Charlton Kings & used as accommodation for poor children.
1827 Duchess of Clarence (future Queen Adelaide) stayed at Liddell's boarding house (later changed to Clarence Hotel) & drove along newly-created 'Clarence St' named after her.
1828 Lansdown Terr. started by Papworth for retired East India Company civil servants.
1828 Parish Church lighted by gas.
1828 Richard Ware, florist & nurseryman, bought five building plots in Pittville Sq (now Wellington Sq) where he created a botanical garden.
1828 Duke of Wellington (the Prime Minister) stayed at The Priory, London Rd for two weeks
1828 Second Infant School with free instruction opened in temporary premises near St James' Sq.
1829 St John's Church, Berkeley St, consecrated.
1829 Public clock erected at former Magistrate's Office in High St
1829 Watts' Theological Literature & Circulating Library opened in High St.
1830 Parish Vestry acquired a small orchard in Lower High St as a new burial ground.
1830 By this date the Montpellier Circulating Library & Reading Room was established.
1830 Martin, Basket & Martin, Jewellers, established about this time in Imperial Circus, now the longest established business in Cheltenham (Martins) in same location.
1830 Whilst the Corn Market was crowded with respectable farmers, a fellow dishonoured the name of civilised man by offering his wife for sale (price unknown).
1830 Cambray Spa had its own Pump Room - an octagonal building in perpendicular style.
1830 Great flood in Cheltenham when the River Chelt burst its banks.
1830 Small Methodist chapel built in Great Norwood St in six weeks, on the site of the former St James' Primary School.
1830 Pittville Spa Pump Room designed by John Forbes and built by Joseph Pitt, opened.
1830 The second (and first free) Infant School in Cheltenham, erected in St James' Sq., was opened. (Has become the oldest surviving Infant School building in the country).
1830 Red Acre Field laid out as the Montpellier Gardens, was opened.
1830 Future Queen Victoria, with her mother, the Duchess of Kent, visited the Duke of Gloucester at 18 Royal Crescent & was taken on a carriage drive of town's attractions.
1830 St James' Church (Suffolk Sq) consecrated.
1831 Fourth official Population Census: 26,574 in Cheltenham hundred.
1831 Work on Imperial Square and Park Place began
1831 Sadlers Wells (St George's Pl) renamed 'New Clarence Theatre.
1831 1,200 children from non-conformist Cheltenham schools moved in procession through the town after a service at Cheltenham Chapel.
1831 Russian Grand Duchess Helena visited the town.
1831 Madam Tussaud's second travelling exhibition of waxworks at Assembly Rooms.
1831 12,000 visitors welcomed to the town each year.
1831 A weekly school was developed at the Sunday School, Charlton Kings.
1831 The boundaries of Charlton Kings were beaten.
1831 First run of Gurney's Steam Carriage between Cheltenham & Gloucester on the turnpike road for several weeks, it ran for four months averaging four runs per day, covering 3,640 miles, carried 4,000 paying customers before it was discontinued.
1831 Fast day observed on account of the cholera.
1831 'L Hirondelle' coach first ran daily between Cheltenham and Liverpool.
1831 Noted violinist Paginini's first performance at the Assembly Rooms.
1831 The free church of St Paul's was consecrated
1831 Two-day Cheltenham Races held for the first time at Lord Ellesborough's Prestbury Park.
1831 Carriage road & walks from High St to the Montpellier Rise completed (The Promenade).
1831 Town Commissioners instituted its own police force consisting of 25 men & an inspector.
1832 Montpellier Arcade with 6 shops (Montpellier Avenue) completed.
1832 Cheltenham's first Horticultural Society established.
1832 "Few towns of equal extent in the Kingdom possess so many churches & chapels, or can boast so efficient & devoted a body of clergy, both in and out of the Establishment" (Stranger's Guide to Cheltenham).
1832 Long Barrow or 'Knapp' (pre-historic burial chamber) sited in St James' Sq. close to the infant's school was opened and excavated.
1832 Thanksgiving Day for escaping the cholera epidemic.
1832 Hon. Craven F Berkeley became Cheltenham's first elected MP - electoral roll: 919
1833 Statue of William IV erected in Imperial Gardens by public subscription to commemorate passing of the Reform Bill.
1833 1,137 children attended Nonconformist Sunday Schools & 1,035 attended Anglican.
1833 Cheltenham Sewerage Act passed & Cheltenham Sewers Company formed.
1833 Cheltenham 'Looker-On' newspaper established.
1833 Gloucestershire Chronicle first published
1833 Paginini's second concert given at Assembly Rooms.
1833 Tivoli first noted.
1833 Charlton Kings Friendly Society established.
1834 Private sewerage company established which built a sewer in the High St & discovered ancient 'stepping stones' & massive oak steps opposite the Plough & Crown Hotels.
1834 Alstone Spa closed - revived early 1900s
1834 Present Arle Court built in Gothic Revival style.
1834 The Cheltenham Grand Annual Steeplechase initiated at Prestbury.
1834 Badger-baiting, held after Sunday service in Charlton Kings churchyard was stopped.
1834 Third infant school in Cheltenham opened in Exmouth Street.
1834 First steeplechase meeting held at Andoversford.
1834 Cambray Spa opened, with an octagonal pump room on the corner of Oriel & Rodney Roads; later becoming Ruck's Turkish Bath.
1835 Visit of HRH Duke of Cambridge, who inspected Bayshill House (formerly Fauconberg House) where George III stayed in 1788.
1835 Prestbury workhouse closed and became part of Cheltenham Poor Law Union.
1835 The Cheltenham Athenaeum opened (Portland St).
1835 Horse racing re-established on Cleeve Hill where the turf was better.
1835 Perambulation of the boundaries of Leckhampton (otherwise Lackington).
1835 First election for the Board of Guardians under Cheltenham Poor Law Union, which covered 12 parishes, replacing responsibilities of the vestries in caring for the town's poor and destitute.
1835 Tithe map for Leckhampton Parish produced by W Croome.
1836 Population of Cheltenham estimated at 33,000
1836 Albert St Chapel (Baker St) built for Primitive Methodists, replacing a chapel on the site required for the new Gas Works on Tewkesbury Road.
1836 Four remaining residents of Charlton Kings workhouse, including 'one idiot' transferred to Cheltenham workhouse.
1836 First reference to a brass band being introduced as an experiment in Cheltenham at a Montpellier Musical Promenade.
1836 New rooms of Literary & Philosophical Institution (Promenade Villas) opened.
1837 Development of Lansdown Estate completed.
1837 Bayshill Estate formed & acquired estate from the Skillicorne family & developed St George's Road, Terraces, Bayshill Villas (Bayshill Road).
1837 Imperial Spa removed to make way for Queen's Hotel and re-erected on corner of St George's Road and Promenade (later Imperial Tea Rooms etc before demolition).
1837 The Cheltenham Stag Hunt was established.
1837 The great Nassau balloon ascended from Montpellier Gardens. A three-hour 90-mile journey by Mr Green and an American Minister, Mr Rush, ended safely 40 miles from London.
1837 Queen Victoria's accession proclaimed at several points whilst processing the town.
1837 Auction held of the Cheltenham Turnpike Tolls.
1837 New schoolroom for boys opened in Horsefair Street, Charlton Kings.
1837 First parachute descent made in Cheltenham from a balloon by Mrs Graham's monkey 'Mademoiselle Jennie' over Montpellier Gardens.
1837 Westall Green was to be enclosed having been 'of late years used exclusively for the purpose of beating carpets on' much to the annoyance of local people, as well as frightening the horses.
1838 23,000 tons of stone from Leckhampton Quarry passed annually along Lippiate (Andover Rd).
1838 35,000 tons of goods carried by the Gloucester & Cheltenham Tramroad Co.
1838 Queen's Circus, Montpellier Avenue completed.
1838 Martins, Basket & Martin appointed 'goldsmiths in ordinary' to Queen Victoria.
1838 Trees in Montpellier Walk removed & row of shops built, distinguished by the caryatides.
1838 The Zoo enterprise had failed. The new owner (Samuel Daukes) converted it into pleasure grounds.
1838 Public News Room opened at former Cheltenham Dispensary in High Street.
1838 Free gas lighting provided to Parish Church for evening services (until 1859).
1838 (July 21) Queen's Hotel opened.
1838 Fete to celebrate 100 years foundation of Old Royal Wells, included illumination of the walk and firework display.
1838 Royal Warrant received by Shirer & McDougall's as 'Mercers, lacers & drapers-in-ordinary' (future Shirers & Lances store in the Promenade Colonnade).
1838 Hampton the aeronaut ascended in a balloon from Montpellier Gardens & safely descended by parachute from a height of some 2 miles at Hick's Farm, Badgeworth.
1839 Charlton Park Estate passed from Lady Russell to her son Sir William Russell (2nd Baronet) when he attained majority.
1839 Cheltenham's first General Hospital began site of Segrave House, Lower High St.
1839 Peter Bendall founded a removers & storage business, later called Barnby Bendall & Co Ltd.
1839 Destruction of Cheltenham Theatre by fire.
1839 Sir Francis H Drake Bt., last male descendant of the great Sir Francis Drake, died at Cheltenham where he had been resident for many years.
1839 Turf Club held meeting to continue racing on Cleeve Hill.
1839 First day mail from London.
1839 County Police Force established, with HQ sited at 1 Crescent Terrace and the town's police station in Crescent Place.
1839 About 3000 assembled at Chartists Meeting at Cheltenham to hear John Frost and Feragus O'Connor; a large number of special constables were sworn in.
1840 Montpellier Walk with its caryatid figures built.
1840 Work began on the Christ Church Estate.
1840 Laying-out of Pittville Circus (originally Albert Circus after Prince Consort).
1840 The Parabola (Parabola Rd) established, believed a unique name in Britain.
1840 Lord Northwick's Picture Gallery established at Thirlstaine House, Bath Rd.
1840 Under the County Police Act 1839, the town police force was disbanded, despite opposition from town commissioners and local people.
1841 Fifth population census: 36,617 in the Cheltenham hundred.
1841 Cheltenham College established at 7-8 Bayshill Terrace.
1841 First photographic portrait studio opens in Cheltenham (today's Imperial Gardens).
1841 Pates Grammar School temporarily closed due to poor conditions.
1841 Ball held at Assembly Rooms in aid of the Female Orphan Asylum.
1841 Cheltenham College established at its earliest premises, 7-8 Bayshill Terrace.
1841 Samuel Martin (jeweller) moved to present site in Promenade (4-5 Imperial Circus).
1841 New Union Workhouse for 581 inmates completed in Swindon Rd.
Of the 769 households in Cheltenham with ‘living-in’ servants, only 6 had nine servants or more; the largest two being in Charlton Kings - Moorend House with 12 - Charlton Park with 10.
1842 First through railway route from Cheltenham to London; the narrow-gauge lines booking passengers by way of Birmingham, saving the horse-coach ride from Cheltenham to Cirencester.
1842 The Colonnade alongside east side of Clarence St. demolished.
1842 The Post Office moved from Clarence St to new building near Police Station.
1842 'The Examiner' appealed to the public to support the Waterloo Gala at the Royal Old Wells, stressing the importance of 'keeping up the town's reputation'.
1842 The Zoological Gardens in the Park were renamed Park Gardens.
1842 Duel at Osterley Park between the Hon. Craven Berkeley MP, & Capt Boldero MP. The parties fired twice without effect and then left the ground.
1842 Exhibition at the Assembly Rooms of the 'Dissolving Dioramic Views'.
1843 Charlton Park estate is mapped again and comprises some 1227 acres, increasing to 1446 acres by 1873 as the old manorial framework was further broken down.
1843 Alfred Lord Tennyson lived mostly at 10 St James Square for six years where he wrote 'In Memoriam'.
1843 Parish Church's tenor bell fell from belfry during evening ringing; no one injured.
1843 Mawe & Tatlow's Museum demolished to make way for Montpellier Exchange.
1843 Mountjoy the 'pedestrian' covered 60 miles a day on six successive days, walking from York Hotel, Cheltenham, to Northleach and back twice a day.
1843 Gala with fireworks & a balloon ascent held in the Park Gardens.
1843 Wellington obelisk on south bank of River Chelt, Wellington St, sold by auction.
1843 Discovery of an Elizabethan chest in the Parish Church filled with ancient parish documents.
1843 Various Civil War relics found in Jessop's Gardens.
1844 Jewish Synagogue acquired plot of land (Elm St, Tewkesbury Rd) as burial Ground.
1844 Little school over north porch of Parish Church was overcrowded.
1844 Bronze framework of a Saxon helmet discovered on a skull dug up at Leckhampton.
1844 Hatherley Road was mostly market gardens.
1844 Trees in southern part of Well Walk had been felled.
1844 Lansdown Hotel & Boarding House opened to guests.
1844 Salem Chapel (Clarence Parade) opened; said to have the tallest chapel doors in England (replaced small chapel in Regent St).
1844 Opening of railway from Cheltenham to Bristol.
1844 Formation of the Cheltenham branch of the Archaeological Society.
1844 Debenham, Pooley & Smith enlarged their premises in the Promenade.
1845 Old Salem Chapel, Regent Street, became the Town Hall.
1845 Roman coins of Emperor Constantine period found on site of teacher training college.
1845 John Millbank (3ft 8 inches tall) known as 'The Muffin Man' illustrated in George Rowe's Guide to Cheltenham.
1845 The Cheltenham & Great Western Union Railway was opened.
1845 Two-day walking of Cheltenham Parish boundary, headed by parochial authorities & 2000 followers. At one point, where the boundary ran through a property, a man climbed a ladder, entered through one window and exited from another.
1845 A severe hail-storm flooded High Street & with several others became impassable.
1845 Lecture in astronomy given at the Assembly Rooms.
1845 Plans produced by Isambard K Brunel for the GWRs 'London, Oxford & Cheltenham Railway' via Shipton-under-Wychwood were rejected by Commons Select Committee.
1846 A pre-historic barrow or 'knap' was completely destroyed during building of the GWR station at Jessop's Nursery (St James' Square).
1846 Female refuge 'for girls who have fallen from the path of virtue' opened at North Parade House, Winchcombe Street.
1846 Bristol & Birmingham Railway first ran their trains on a Sunday.
1846 Soup kitchen established for the poor in St Peter's parish.
1847 Large public meeting in Town Hall organised Irish Famine Relief raised £6,000.
1847 - Town Improvement Clauses Act relating to the naming & numbering of streets & provision of a town clock came into effect in Cheltenham.
1847 Concert held at Assembly Rooms in aid of the Irish famine.
1847 First experimental trip on the Great Western Railway with engine D'Jered, brought Isombard Kingdom Brunel Esq., and his party to Cheltenham.
1847 Coltham Lane upgraded; re-opened as Hales Road after Mr Hale (town surveyor).
1847 Public opening of Great Western Railway Station (a temporary structure) at Jessop's Nursery - as St James' Station.
1847 Old Charity School (Parish School) moved to new purpose-built National School in Devonshire Street.
1848 Demolition of Old Royal Well buildings; replaced by new Pump Room & Theatre.
1848 Lansdown Crescent completed.
1848 Town Commissioners ordered a borough rate of 6d in the pound.
1848 Foundation stone laid for new hospital by Right Hon. Lord Dunnalley.
1848 A petition by the Conservatives claiming bribery & corruption by Craven Berkeley & his agents is upheld & election result declared null & void.
1849 Skillicorne's Royal Well building replaced by larger (Samuel Olney) pump room.
1849 New General Hospital opened in Sandford Rd, replacing Segrave House in High St.
1849 Ancient Order of Druids re-opened 'Beehive Inn' Montpellier.
1849 Electric illuminations shown in Cheltenham for the first time.
1849 5000 children line up along railway line to see Queen Victoria & royal family pass through Lansdown Station en-route from Scotland to Osborn House, Isle of Wight.
1850 Cheltenham Teacher Training College housing 100 men opened; female dept of the college moved to old hospital in High Street, renamed St Mary's Hall, as temporary home before new site was built in St George's Place.
1850 Royal Parade (Bayshill Rd) completed.
1850 The Park Spa was established (Cornerways, The Park).
1850 Shackleford's Carriage Works, Albion Street, opened.
1850 The famous 'Battle of Prestbury Park' when villagers, led by the High Bailiff & churchwardens filled in a ditch & destroyed fencing set across an ancient footpath.
1851 Charlton Park estate is disentailed and vested in Sir William Russell absolutely.
1851 Sixth population census: 49,595 people in the Cheltenham hundred. Census returns suggest that more than 1,400 people in town were small shop workers. 6,065 people involved in some form of service employment, including 1,020 laundresses
1851 Poor Law Commissioners abolished ancient tythings & divided town into 5 wards
1851 Entire Cheltenham population over which the poor rate was levied numbered 44,190.
1851 Hurricane hit Cheltenham and Royal Old Well Avenue of Sycamores was wrecked.
1851 Building of Libertus Estate (St Mark's) was first venture of the Cheltenham & Gloucester Freehold Land Society which promoted freehold ownership.
1852 There were 756 gas street lamps in town supplied at the public's expense.
1852 Alterations to Parish Church meant the removal of the school to another building.
1852 Schools of Art & Science established.
1852 A fireball shot through the open window of a house in Rowanfield, passing between the legs of a lady within & causing a wall and roof to collapse; without injury to anyone.
1852 Grammar School in High Street publicly re-opened under a revised scheme.
1852 High winds caused havoc in Cheltenham. Windows were blown in, chimneys came down all over the town, trees were uprooted in Cambray & Suffolk Lawn, stables flattened in Plough Hotel Yard and a woman in full skirts was lifted off the ground & given a surprise flight along Bath Road.
1853 First visit to the town of Gloucestershire Yeomanry Hussars and 450 of them were reviewed in Charlton Park.
1853 Meeting held at Hale's music-room to form the Cheltenham Company of 'Volunteers' in view of the aggressive policy of Louis Napoleon.
1853 Three flys (light horse drawn carriage) in collision in the Colonnade.
1853 Cheltenham copyholders public meeting presided over by Sir William Russell, MP.
1853 The Great House (Clarence Street) demolished.
1853 Construction of York Terrace (St George's Rd) completed.
1854 GPO install pillar boxes in Cheltenham as an experiment.
1854 Academy for Young Ladies at Charlton Villa, Charlton Kings, closed.
1854 Cheltenham Ladies' College opened in Cambray House (now Cambray Court).
1854 Three day exhibition of Horticultural & Works of Art & Science held at Royal Well Gardens (Imperial Gardens); included a 400-ft glass & steel 'Crystal Palace' (demolished after the event) and was attended by over 65,000 people.
1854 Fossil remains of gigantic ox and a human lower jawbone found during sewer repairs in Bath Road.
1855 Gas Works office building (Corner of High St & Gloucester Rd) opened.
1855 Prestbury Park bought by Mr Dodson of Rose Hill who was determined to end racing; in consequence the steeplechase moved to Bibury.
1855 Opening of Cambray Baptist Chapel to accommodate increased numbers.
1855 Two-day Cheltenham & City of Gloucester Races was held on old racecourse on Cleeve Common to revive an old tradition.
1855 (Jul 14) Severe storms flooded a number of streets & houses; newly-laid sewers near Bath Rd 'blew up' causing much damage to nearby houses.
1855 (Jul 26) Great flood in town; river Chelt burst its banks & houses between Bath Rd and Alstone flooded to depth of 3 & 4 feet.
1855 Old Wells Music Hall & Pump Room, rebuilt by George Rowe & Samuel Olney, inaugurated with a grand horticultural & flower fete. Attracting 7,000 visitors & renamed 'Royal Wells Music Hall'.
1855 The inaugural meeting of 'The Cheltenham & Gloucestershire Permanent Mutual Benefit Building & Investment Association' held at Belle Vue Hotel; later shortened to 'The Cheltenham & Gloucestershire Benefit Building Society' (today's C&G).
1855 The Town Commissioners summoned a public meeting with regard to the restoration of the Roman Catholic hierarchy in England & Wales.
1855 A second public meeting known as the 'Great Meeting' took place at the Town Hall, Regent St, when a protest was recorded against the Pope of Rome and a riot occurred outside the Catholic chapel.
1855 An attempt to burn effigies of the Pope & cardinals was prevented by the Police.
1856 Girls Parish School, Knapp Lane, opened.
1856 The Imperial Hotel in the Promenade became an exclusive club for 'resident noblemen & gentlemen.
1856 St George's Hall, High St, opened for functions not large enough to be held in the Town Hall (then in Regent St). The first event was an exhibition working model of the Crimean War which ended two months previously.
1856 The Grand Annual Steeplechase returned to Cheltenham and was run along old Gloucester Road.
1856 Peace with Russia publicly proclaimed by town-crier throughout the streets.
1856 2000 children marched though town to celebrate Peace Gala held at Old Wells.
1856 Town Crier, John Preston, announced 'Notice is hereby given...that the price of corn has decreased 16s per quarter within the last three weeks'.
1856 Cheltenham's postmen clothed in the 'Queens livery' for the first time.
1856 Water Company agreed to lay separate fire mains along the whole of their system.
1856 Public meeting held at Town Hall to petition against unjust & oppressive features of income tax.
1857 The Grand Annual Steeplechase was run around Andoversford.
1857 William M Thackeray gave two lecturers on 'Sketches of Court & Town Life in the reigns of George III & George IV'.
1857 Inauguration of the Charlton Kings Reading Association.
1857 The incomplete Church of St Gregory the Great opened by Cardinal Wiseman. (Replacing red-brick chapel on the same site)
1857 Arle Court mansion built on the site of the former Grovefield House.
1858 Coal, coke soup & provisions distributed by St Peter's Relief Fund
1858 The Town Band took part in the great procession for the two Sebastopol cannons, placed in front of the Queen's Hotel - commemorating a battle of the Crimean War.
1858 Magistrate's Office opened in the Clarence Hotel.
1858 Cheltenham College Chapel opened (now the dining room).
1859 Charles Dickens came to Royal Old Wells.
1859 Closure of the Gloucester & Cheltenham Tramroad Company.
1859 Lord Northwick's Picture Gallery, Thirlstaine House, closed.
1859 Parish Church closed as building found to be unsafe.
1859 Freehold & Copyhold land purchased on Battledown to create Battledown Estate.
1859 Plan put forward for Cheltenham to Northleach Railway Line - never happened.
1859 A church made of corrugated iron, seating 1500, was built on south side of Clarence St (on former site of 'Great House') to accommodate the closure of Parish Church.
1860 In a wager of £50 Edward Griffiths of Marle Hill undertook to drive his pony & gig from the Plough Hotel, Cheltenham, to the Mitre Hotel, Oxford in five hours, and a distance of some 40 miles. He won the bet with half-an-hour to spare.
1860 Two 13th century stone coffins found in Parish Church, believed to be those of abbots of the Monastery
1860 Circulation of the new bronze penny & halfpenny coinage in Cheltenham.
1860 First trees planted along both sides of Lansdown Road.
1860 (Dec 26) Cricket match played on the ice-covered Pittville Lake.
1861 Population of Cheltenham now 49,688
1861 Tram Road to Gloucester abolished & materials sold for £2,703
1861 Public meeting agreed the proposed Cheltenham to Bourton-on-the-Water Railway. The Bill was thrown out on House of Commons Standing Orders.
1861 One of the siege pieces used in the Civil War, struck out of unalloyed gold at Oxford, dug up in Charlton Kings.
1861 Pratt's Coach, which had run between Cheltenham and Malvern for 40 years was beaten 'off the road' by the railway.
1861 Cheltenham & Gloucestershire Ophthalmic Infirmary founded.
1862 The Post Office had 16 postmen who delivered about 2M letters annually over a 30 mile radius.
1862 Charles Dickens gave his first reading at the Assembly Rooms.
1862 Glover's Oxford Mail (last of the mail coaches) taken off the road.
1862 Public gas lamps extended from Cheltenham to Leckhampton.
1862 Dense fog caused a butcher's gig to drive into a deep pond near Charlton Kings; the driver survived but the horse drowned.
1862 Since opening, 200 patients had been treated at the ophthalmic surgery, including two successful cataract operations.
1862 Alders, photographers, opened for business at 20 Promenade Villas.
1862 Manor of Cheltenham sold by private treaty to Robert Lingwood for £33,000.
1863 Manuscript collector Sir Thomas Philips moved his massive library from Broadway to Thirlstaine House (Bath Rd, Cheltenham) in 103 wagons. At his death, his collection amounted to 60,000 manuscripts and 100,000 books.
1863 Rev. Charles Lutwidge Dodgson, author, mathematician, logician and photographer ('Lewis Carroll') stayed at Belle Vue Hotel (High St) whilst visiting the Liddell family in Charlton Kings.
1863 Battledown Estate's land lots all sold, roads and footpaths completed.
1863 Alarming earthquake shock felt in town.
1864 Annual meeting of Gloucestershire Agricultural Society in Pittville Gardens included cattle, dog and flower shows.
1864 Farmer's Club Room opened in the High Street.
1864 Present cemetery in Bouncers Lane established replacing one in Lower High Street.
1864 Current bandstand in Montpellier Gardens erected (oldest in Britain still in use).
1865 John Maskelyne & George Cook presented their magic 'Box Trick' at Jessop Aviary Gardens in St James' Square.
1865 Gymnasium building at Cheltenham College was opened.
1865 Public meeting in Town Hall condemned Water Company's plan to bring River Severn water to Cheltenham.
1865 Cheltenham Photographic Society formed.
1866 Cheltenham Ladies' College purchase part of the Old Royal Well site.
1866 Royal Well Methodist Chapel, St George's Rd, opened.
1866 Cheltenham Express first published - now eight Cheltenham newspapers.
1866 Town Commissioners decide on sewerage disposal by irrigation.
1866 Charles Dickens gave Reading at the Assembly Rooms.
1866 Miss Susan Delancey bequeathed £5,000 to build a fever hospital.
1866 Launch of Cheltenham Lifeboat at Pittville Park; presented to RNLI at Burnham.
1866 Post Office introduce an evening delivery of letters throughout Cheltenham.
1867 Market House & Arcade in Bennington Street demolished.
1867 Charles Dickens at Assembly Rooms again for two days.
1867 Cheltenham Gas Company laid additional gas mains in the town
1867 Bishop's Licence issued for temporary services to be held in St George's Hall, High Street, whilst All Saints Church was being built.
1868 The first bicycle appeared in Cheltenham ridden by Martin Rucker, a pupil of Cheltenham College - a 36" 'boneshaker'.
1868 Cypher's five-acre exotic nursery (Queen's Rd) started; sends flowers world-wide.
1868 Hollingsworth, tobacconist has figure of Scottish soldier outside his High St shop.
1868 First peal of bells were rung at St Mary's Church, Charlton Kings.
1868 The Cheltonian Society (former Cheltenham College pupils) was formed.
1869 Charles Dickens gave 'farewell readings' at the Assembly Rooms.
1869 Post Office sent 'Velocipedes' to speed up delivery of letters and books in town.
1869 Cheltenham Croquet Club formed on two lawns in Montpellier Gardens.
1869 Dedication of St Mary's Hall, new buildings for women's dept of St Paul's training college on former site of 'Old Farm, St George's Place.
1869 Christmas dinner served in the Market Hall for 500 poor children.
1870 Amateur Photographic Society exhibition held in Clarence Parade Rooms.
1870 Royal Old Wells Spa sold for building on.
1870 Assembly Rooms used to exhibit panorama of Franco-Prussian war.
1870 Avenue of Elms in Old Well Walk cut down.
1871 Population Census: 49,107 in the Cheltenham hundred.
1871 Part of Old Wells Garden bought by Ladies' College.
1871 The Delancey Hospital Fever Trust established.
1871 'Church of the Twelve Apostles' (Holy Apostles) Charlton Kings, opened.
1872 RSPCA's Cheltenham branch established.
1872 Stand pipes erected to provide an efficient means of watering public highways.
1872 Railway lines into St James' station converted from broad to narrow gauge (4' 8½")
1872 Grand exhibition of silkworms held at the Assembly Rooms.
1872 First-class cricket played at Cheltenham College for the first time when a two-day county match was held against Surrey.
1872 Edward Wilson, doctor, botanist, artist and Antarctic explorer with Capt. Scott, was born at 91 Montpellier Terrace, Cheltenham.
1873 Cheltenham to have its first; 'American' roller skating rink in the Town Hall in Regent Street.
1873 Cambray Spa Pump Room (corner of Rodney Rd & Oriel Rd) bought by William Ruck, became a Turkish bath.
1873 The New Club (lower corner of Imperial Square and Promenade) opened.
1873 Ladies' College took possession of its new school rooms at the corner of St George's Rd & Montpellier St.
1873 200 shopkeepers agreed to close their shops at 5pm 'in order to afford their assistants opportunities for relaxation'.
1873 Mr Coxwells balloon ascended from the Oddfellow's Fete' in Pittville Park and descended at Rendcomb, Glos.
1873 Blondin the tight-rope walker performed at Montpellier Gardens.
1873 Town shops shut in anticipation of disturbances by torchlight processions by political parties.
1874 Home for sick children established as; The Delancey Fever Hospital opened.
1874 Cemetery & Chapel established in Priors Road.
1874 Fire Brigade called to put out a fire at Queen's Hotel caused by 'a rocket thrown by someone in the Conservative Procession while passing'.
1874 Gustav Holst (composer of The Planets) born at 4 Pittville Terrace.
1874 First court case in Cheltenham of a milkman fined for adulterating the milk.
1875 Sir William Russell Bt. of Charlton Park is declared bankrupt. The estate passed to Mr Albert Brassey (1844-1918) - Sir William Russell's mortgagee.
1875 Charlton Kings Baptist Church with schoolroom opened.
1875 Relief Committee helped 366 families purchase coal at reduced price during the severe winter.
1875 St Mary's Parish Church closed to remove galleries & restore nave & aisles.
1875 Market Place moved and opened on site of old Albion Brewery, Gloucester Road, opposite the Gasworks.
1875 Big increase in sheep disease in Cheltenham.
1876 Cheltenham received its charter of incorporation as a Borough, replacing Commissioners by a Mayor and Borough Council.
1876 By this time the Ladies' College's Lower Hall, Tower & Principal's house in Montpellier St (designed by John Middleton) has been completed.
1876 W G Grace scored 318 not out against Yorkshire at Cheltenham College Ground.
1876 Debenham's store became known as 'Debenham & Hewitt' in the Promenade.
1876 First Town Council Meeting held in the Public Offices when Mr William Nash Skillicorne (great grandson of first spa's founder) was elected first Mayor of Cheltenham.
1876 Cheltenham-born jockey Fred Archer rode 206 winners in one season.
1876 Cheltenham Post Office moved from Clarence St to former Imperial Club premises in the Promenade.
1877 W G Grace took a record 17 wickets for 89 against Nottinghamshire at Cheltenham.
1877 Renovations at St Mary's Church, Cheltenham are completed and a two-day bazaar is held to raise funds in aid of the work.
1877 Cheltenham MP (Mr Agg-Gardner) presents petition in favour of women's suffrage.
1877 £1,400 raised in Cheltenham for the Indian Famine Fund.
1877 Catholic Church of St Gregory the Great (Manchester St) was Consecrated.
1877 Public meeting held to consider the formation of the Natural History Society, to be called the 'Cheltenham Philosophical Society'.
1878 Winter Garden 'Crystal Palace' constructed in Imperial Gardens - venue for concerts, exhibitions, roller-skating and more.
1878 'The Telephone & Phonograph, those marvels of modern Science' were subjects of lectures given at the Cheltenham Corn Exchange.
1878 Adolph Von Holst (Gustav Holst's father) gave a Grand Evening Concert at the Corn Exchange.
1878 Annual Cricket Week began. W G Grace and members of the County XI were given a complimentary banquet by the Mayor.
1878 Ten-day meting of the Social Science Association held in Cheltenham.
1879 Pilford Brickworks, Leckhampton began working.
1879 Committee for the Relief of the Unemployed Poor gave bread and coal to 1,700 and gave employment to some 150 men daily during severe winter.
1879 New St Philips & St James Church (Grafton Rd) commenced building on site of the former St Philip's Church. The new church was designed by John Middleton.
1879 Lawn Tennis Week commenced in Cheltenham.
1879 The Lansdown & Tivoli Coffee Tavern opened in Tivoli.
1879 Mr D'Oyly Carte's theatre company perform 'HMS Pinafore' in Cheltenham.
1880s Cheltenham Gas Company's red brick building (Gloucester Rd) completed.
1880 Worcester & County Bank built on corner of Promenade & High Street.
1880 Cheltenham College Baths (College Baths Rd) opened [considered the oldest swimming pool surviving in the country].
1880 Cheltenham Ladies' College incorporated as a company - 500 pupils on roll.
1880 Original Elizabethan Arle Court manor house demolished.
1880 The Gloucester Co-operative Society's No 7 branch opened at 238 High Street.
1880 Higgs Night School in Charlton Kings (East End Hall), open weekdays 7-9pm.
1881 Population of Cheltenham 50,840
1881 Civic deputation pressed Great Western Railway (GWR) for new station at St James' to replace the 'unsightly shanty' currently there.
1881 Case of typhoid fever traced to the well water in the Park.
1881 Bush Electric Light Company's experimental street lighting system is turned down.
1881 Winter Gardens successfully installed the Bush Electric Light System and held an illuminated tennis tournament.
1882 Part of the Montpellier Spa building became the Worcester City & County Bank - concerts and balls continued to be held in the main area.
1882 Board of Guardians acquired 'The Elms' next to the Workhouse as a home for poor children (Popes Close).
1882 Cheltenham Ladies' College Music Wing completed.
1882 Concerts held at the Assembly Rooms in aid of the Home Teaching Institution for the Blind.
1882 Salvation Army took over 'The Circus' premises, now 'The Citadel' Bath Road.
1883 The East Gloucestershire Club is formed on land leased from Charlton Park; initially purely as a cricket club but in following years archery, croquet, hockey, lacrosse and baseball were played on its turf.
1883 Cheltenham Bowling Club established its first green next to the Winter Garden.
1883 The Gloucestershire Echo (successor to the Evening Telegraph) and published at 3 Promenade Place, appears for the first time.
1883 There were 15 Anglican, at least 20 Nonconformist Chapels, one Catholic and a Jewish Synagogue as places of worship in Cheltenham by this time.
1883 First meeting of the Archery Club in Montpellier Gardens.
1883 The Parcel Post came into operation.
1883 The department store Debenham & Hewitt becomes Cavendish House Ltd.
1883 The newly built St Stephen's Church, Tivoli, Cheltenham opened for worship.
1884 Oscar Wilde lectured on 'Aestheticism' at the Assembly Rooms.
1884 Public Library in Liverpool Place opened to readers (opposite Rodney Road).
1884 Foundation stone laid for Dean Close Memorial School, Shelburne Road.
1884 The Poor Sisters of Nazareth arrive in Cheltenham (10 St James' Square).
1885 Charlton Park is now owned by the executors of Russell's mortgagee, Albert Brassey. Town gas is laid on to light the house which undergoes yet more alterations.
1885 An 11yr old 'confirmed truant' from Cheltenham sent to the Naval Training Ship 'Formidable'; reason for enrolment: 'He doesn't care for school.'
1885 Lectures given on 'Love, Courtship & Marriage' at the Assembly Rooms.
1885 Aircraft designer Frederick Handley Page born at Kings Road, Cheltenham.
1886 New greenhouses and a furnace heating system installed in walled kitchen garden at Charlton Park.
1886 'The Famous' gentlemen's outfitters were founded and they are still trading today.
1886 The Poor Sisters of Nazareth ran a soup kitchen for the poor.
1886 Foundation stone laid for Workhouse Chapel at the time when the Workhouse was undergoing extensive modernisation.
1886 GWR agreed to build new Rly Stn at St. James; new goods dept already completed.
1886 Opening of the Dowdeswell Reservoir on east side of the town.
1887 Cheltenham received its Coat of Arms and chose the motto: 'Salubritas et Eruditio' (Health & Learning).
1887 Royal Wells Music Hall (Theatre Royal) leased to the Ladies' College.
1887 Mass meeting demanded the purchase of Marle Hill Estate as a people's park.
1887 The Banbury & Cheltenham District Railway extended to Banbury.
1887 The Gordon Lamp (memorial to General Gordon of Khartoum) is lit by gas.
1887 Queen Victoria's Golden Jubilee Celebrations include the laying of the corner stone of Public Library (Clarence St); opening of Cheltenham's first municipal swimming baths on site of Alstone Mill, (Great Western Rd); great children's treat in Montpellier Gardens, illuminations at night and beacon fires on surrounding hills.
1887 Albion Steam Flower Mill (St Pauls) introduce new roller milling process.
1887 Foundation stone laid for new Grammar School in the High Street.
1887 Gardner's malthouse renamed 'Cheltenham Original Brewery'.
1887 Town's Streets & Highways Committee consider introduction of electric light.
1888 Gloucestershire Echo moved to its current premises in Clarence Parade.
1888 First County Cricket Match played at East Gloucestershire Ground against Notts.
1888 Meeting by Early Closing Association to promote weekly half-day holiday in shops.
1888 Cheltenham connected by telephone with trunk lines of the Western Counties & South Wales Telephonic Co and opened an exchange in 6 North St serving 17 customers.
1888 Charlton Kings Working Men's Club & Institute was officially opened.
1889 After the latest improvements in Charlton Park, including the transfer of the drawing room from the first to the ground floor, installing windows in the south end (previously none) and adding a bathroom to each of the upstairs floors, Sir Richard Vassar-Smith is installed as Albert Brassey's (Trustee's) new tenant.
1889 Experiments with electric lighting carried out in Cheltenham Promenade.
1889 Eye, Ear & Throat Hospital established in North Street, Cheltenham.
1889 Cheltenham's first County Councillors elected (six seats).
1889 Concert held in Assembly Rooms using Edison's perfected phonography.
1889 Public Library & Schools of Science & Art opened in Clarence Street.
1889 Cheltenham passes bill authorising purchase of Pittville Gardens and Estate.
1889 Experiments in electric lighting carried out in the Promenade.
1890 Horse-bus service introduced between Cheltenham High Street and Charlton Kings and another one between Lansdown Station and Pittville Gates.
1890 Old Well Walk destroyed by this date; Royal Well Music Hall bought by Cheltenham Ladies' College.
1890 Cheltenham Omnibus Company was formed.
1890 Cheltenham Operatic & Dramatic Society formed at the High St Assembly Rooms.
1890 Horse-bus service commenced from High St to Charlton Kings.
1890 Charlton Kings Chess Club open to all men & women, commenced at the Institute.
1890 Horse-bus service starts from St. James' Sq to the Malvern Inn, Leckhampton.
1890 Frank Benson & his company presented week of Shakespeare at the Winter Garden.
1890 Ball held in the re-opened, re-modelled and enlarged Assembly Rooms.
1891 Tenth official population census: 50,707 in the Cheltenham hundred.
1891 Drinking fountain, donated by the 3 Misses Whish, to celebrate their 50 years living in Cheltenham, placed at Westall Green [now in Sandford Park near Keynsham Road].
1891 Cheltenham Golf Club formally started at a public meeting at the Queen's Hotel.
1891 Post Office commenced an 'Express Delivery Service'.
1891 New Theatre & Opera House opened in Regent St with a show by Lily Langtree.
1892 Under the Borough Extension Order, 294 acres in South Town, Park & Leckhampton Rd area (north of Church Rd) transferred to Cheltenham Borough Council.
1892 Two trains ran from Southampton to Cheltenham on the Midland & South Western.
1892 Local Government Board gave Town Council permission to purchase Montpellier Gardens
1892 Formation of Cheltenham Town Football Club.
1893 Charlton Kings welcomed its first District Nurse.
1893 Liddington Lake, adjoining Leckhampton Rly Stn opened for 'Easter Amusements' with two small steamers providing boat rides.
1893 Charlton Kings recreation ground opened behind the Institute.
1893 Naunton Park recreation ground opened and 7,000 children entertained.
1893 Neptune Fountain unveiled in the Promenade - said to be inspired by the Fontana di Trevi in Rome.
1893 Third Cheltenham Triennial Music Festival held at the Winter Garden.
1893 72 poplar trees planted at Naunton Park recreation ground & named the 'St Clair Ford Avenue'.
1894 Horse-bus services extended - one to Cleeve Hill and one to Leckhampton Road at the Malvern Inn, opposite Church Road.
1894 Cheltenham hosted a 100-mile cycle race from the Norwood Arms to Gloucester, Worcester, Evesham and back to Cheltenham's football ground.
1894 Henry Dale acquired Leckhampton Hill & refused any public access rights.
1894 Cheltenham Urban District Council formed at Charlton Kings.
1894 Four horse-bus services begun, including from Lansdown Rly Stn to The Rising Sun, Cleeve Hill.
1894 Steam boat & canoe races, water polo & other activities held at Liddington Lake.
1894 Leckhampton Court estate sale opened the way for extensive housing in the parish.
1894 First meeting of newly formed Leckhampton Parish Council was held.
1895 Electricity sub-station, first part of the town's electricity system completed (Clarence St) and Cheltenham became one of the first towns in England to have an electricity supply run by its own Council, supplying 27 customers. Public Library became one of the first public buildings to be illuminated by electricity.
1895 Old Royal Well Music Hall Theatre demolished & building of Princess Hall begun on the same site
1895 Formation of Charlton Kings Choral & Orchestral Society.
1895 Cheltenham Choral Society formed.
1895 Winter Garden taken over by Borough Council which promoted such activities as auctions, circuses, roller-skating and repertory theatre.
1896 The Gloucestershire Assizes were held in Cheltenham.
1896 Six-day closing down sale of Williams Library, 200,000 - 300,000 books sold.
1896 Believed Cheltenham's first motor-car, a De Dion & Bouton Motor Tricycle, advertised for sale just two weeks after it had been bought as new.
1896 Temperance Societies' garden party & Band of Hope festival at Liddington Lake.
1896 Bandstand with thatched roof opened at Naunton Park ground.
1897 Princess Hall of Cheltenham Ladies' College completed.
1897 Charlton Mill had become a small dairy farm.
1897 Switching on of 29 arc-lamps (known as Dragon & Onion) in three town streets.
1897 Victoria Cricket Ground opened by Dr W. G. Grace.
1897 Celebrations of Queen Victoria's Diamond Jubilee concluded with illuminated boats on Liddington Lake, balloon ascents, firework display & bonfire beacon on Leckhampton Hill.
1897 Cheltenham Original Brewery largely destroyed by fire.
1898 Cheltenham Original Brewery buildings re-constructed in Henrietta Street.
1898 Cheltenham's New Philharmonic Society performed Dvorak's 'Spectre's Bride'.
1898 Montpellier Baths bought by town and converted into an indoor swimming pool.
1899 Thomas Nevis, American tramway pioneer, arrived in Cheltenham to help provide the new electric tramway system.
1899 Dale's Leckhampton Quarries Company formed.
1899 Bristol Motorist fined for 'driving a motor car furiously' in Pittville Street.
1899 Municipal Art Gallery opened in Clarence Street.
1900 Cheltenham had 28 elementary schools all run by various churches and chapels.
1900 Electric Lighting Order extended the supply area to Charlton Kings
1900 Open Air Theatre (Proscenium) opened in Montpellier Gardens.
1900 Bandstand erected in Pittville Park.
1900 Towns first motor car fatality occurred near the racecourse.
1900 Electricity connected from the town to Charlton Kings and Charlton Park.
1900 Most Cheltenham people saw their first motor car as the town was 'invaded' by 83 cars taking part in the Automobile Club of Great Britain & Ireland's 1000-mile time trial, stopping for lunch at the Queen's Hotel. Only 48 finished and the fastest time of 37.63mph was achieved by Sir Charles Rolls.
1901 Wards Department Store opened corner of High St & North Street.
1901 Commencement of the Cheltenham & Cleeve Hill tramway.
1901 Good Friday Leckhampton Hill protest march over access rights.
1901 Civic welcome for Cheltenham Rifle Volunteers after S. African Boer War ends.
1901 First trial of electric tramcar from Lansdown depot to summit of Cleeve Hill.
1901 Tramcar route from Lansdown to Southam formally opened, establishing Cheltenham's electric tram service; 40,000 paying passengers carried in the first week.
1901 Miss Dorothea Beale, Principal of Cheltenham Ladies' College, made Cheltenham's 1st honorary 'Freewoman'.
1902 The County Police Force's Cheltenham 'patch' comprised 15,229 acres, a population of 51,854 and a police strength of 65.
1902 Charlton Kings Fire Brigade established at the UDC yard in Horsefair Street.
1902 The Grand Annual Steeplechase returned to Prestbury Park.
1902 Crowded meeting of Leckhampton parishioner's protests against the Quarry Company's action to close paths claimed to be public right of way.
1902 Leckhampton Hill dispute - march from Malvern Inn to the hill & 10,000 gathered.
1902 Prestbury Park held its first two-day National Hunt Festival.
1902 2000 people rioted on Leckhampton Hill over public rights of way; Tramway Cottage demolished & furniture burnt.
1902 Celebration of King Edward VIIs Coronation.
1902 Lloyds Bank's new premises, built with Bath Stone opened in High Street.
1903 Cheltenham Light Railway Company's trams replace horse-drawn bus services.
1903 Heaven & Ballinger, two leaders of Leckhampton Hill dispute, surrender.
1903 Burrows (photographer & publisher) produces 'Cheltenham - The Garden Town'.
1903 The last first-class cricket match played at East Gloucestershire Ground.
1903 Col. William Cody aka 'Buffalo Bill' brought his Wild West Show to The Grounds (future GCHQ Oakley site) and 14,000 people attended the two performances.
1903 Education Committee resolved to abolish all school fees.
1903 Viaduct being built on new Cheltenham - Honeybourne Rly Line partially collapsed killing four men.
1903 New Town Hall opened by Sir Michael Hicks-Beach. MP.
1904 Medical Officer of Health reported a record low death rate.
1904 Ladies' College celebrated its Golden Jubilee.
1904 S G Smith the only Cheltonian to be hanged in Gloucester Jail.
1904 Underground telephone cables installed in Cheltenham.
1904 Large demonstration in town for public right of access to Leckhampton Hill.
1904 Demonstration of town's horse-drawn steam fire-engine in Montpellier Gardens.
1904 Captain Scott lecture in Town Hall on his exploits in Antarctica on the 'Discovery' (Dr Edward Wilson of Cheltenham was part of his team on the expedition).
1905 John Philip Sousa concert at Winter Gardens. It was reported that 'those living within half a mile radius just stayed at home and listened'.
1905 GWR Cheltenham to Winchcombe motor-bus commenced running.
1905 Extension of tramway to serve Leckhampton & Charlton Kings to include central loop-line from St James' Sq. to North St, via Ambrose & Western High Sts commenced.
1905 Cambray Baptist Church held its Golden Jubilee.
1905 2000 people took part in Good Friday march along Daisybank Road, damaging Tramway Cottage in protest at Leckhampton Hill being fenced off to the public.
1905 New horse-ambulance obtained for the town.
1905 Tunnel bored at Hunting Butts near racecourse for Honeybourne Rly Line.
1906 Cheltenham hand Ambulance litter presented to the town.
1906 Believed to be the first memorial by the Japanese in honour of an English subject, was erected at St Mary's Church, Charlton Kings.
1906 (Apr 13) Good Friday demonstrations on Leckhampton Hill when the Riot Act was read; arrests made & eight men tried at Gloucester Assizes (today's Crown Court).
1906 Maud's Elm tragic reminder of tale of Maud Bowen, was cut down (Swindon Rd).
1906 Mr J W Austin, Cheltenham lamplighter for 44 years, retired, having walked 224,840 miles lighting lamps in the town (excluding his other perambulations).
1906 Letheren's Vulcan Iron Works closed.
1907 County High School for Girls renamed Pate's Grammar School for Girls.
1907 Salterley Grange, Leckhampton, purchased by Birmingham City Council as a sanatorium for consumptives.
1907 Town Museum opened in rooms vacated by Schools of Art & Science at Public Library.
1907 Robins Fund financed Christmas treat for 1,600 poor children.
1908 500 poor children fetched in horse-drawn cabs from St Peter's School and treated to a Christmas tea at the Winter Garden.
1908 Malvern Road Station opened for through trains to and from Honeybourne.
1908 First moving pictures shown in Cheltenham at the Corn Exchange (near Marks & Spencer) - a biograph (an animated picture machine) where 'The Battle of Trafalgar' flickered onto a makeshift screen.
1908 Halfpenny meals given to St Peter's School children (Soup, bread & jam).
1908 Opening of Grand Stand and Club House at Cheltenham Racecourse.
1908 Cheltenham staged a six-day Historical Pageant in the grounds of Marle Hill House (Pittville Park) and 3000 people took part.
1908 Formation of Cheltenham branch of the Anti-Suffrage League.
1909 Installation of 150 street nameplates - a further 31 streets had not been named at all.
1909 Sir Ernest Shackleton lectured in Cheltenham on 'Nearest the South Pole'.
1909 The Philharmonic Orchestra gave a concert in the Town Hall, attended by Finnish composer Jean Sibelius & Irish tenor John McCormick.
1909 Robins fund financed a Christmas treat for 2,500 poor children who were entertained at the Winter Garden and given boots.
1910 Gloucestershire Echo advertised a cottage with garden in Charlton Kings to let at 1/9d (8p) a week; a six-bedroom house in Church Road, Leckhampton for sale at £300.
1910 The Automobile Clubs 1000 mile trial stopped at the Winter Garden for lunch.
1910 The British Esperanto Congress held in Cheltenham.
1910 Two children who rescued a playmate from drowning in Pittville Lake were presented with bibles.
1910 During Cheltenham Carnival an airship flight was made by Mr Willow from Montpellier Gardens, landing in Cardiff, South Wales.
1910 First aeroplane in Cheltenham area when its builder, Mr H Higgins carried out gliding trials on Cleeve Hill, rising several feet and covering 30 yards.
1911 Sandford Mill ceased working, possibly for first time since 1086 or earlier. It becomes a farm worked by William Cox (hence Cox's Meadow after 1957).
1911 Twelfth Population Census; 48,942 in the Cheltenham Borough & Civil Parishes.
1911 National Hunt Steeplechase returned to Cheltenham where new Racecourse had been completed and where it has remained ever since.
1911 First Christian Science public lecture given at the Town Hall.
1911 Cheltenham celebrated coronation of George V & Queen Mary in the town and with giant bonfires on Leckhampton and Crickley Hills.
1911 Three day flying exhibition held at Whaddon Farm by Mr B C Hicks in his Blackburn monoplane, reaching heights of over 1000 feet.
1911 Liddington Lake & Pleasure Gardens closed
1911 Over 2000 poor children entertained by Opera House pantomime artists and given a bag containing cake, chocolate, an orange, buns and a cracker.
1912 Sharpe & Fisher Ltd founded, trading from a house in Fairfield Park Road.
1912 25 electricity sub-stations and 11 transformer chambers in use throughout the town.
1912 First motorised buses in town as Bristol Omnibus Co. Ltd came with their blue taxis, omnibuses and charabancs.
1912 New horse-drawn ambulance arrived in Norton's garage, Regent Street.
1912 (Jul 13) A landing and take-off by Lt Fox in his plane on East Gloucestershire sports ground on the edge of Charlton Park.
1912 (Jul 25) Thousands came to watch Henri Salmet, chief instructor of Bleriot Flying School demonstrate his monoplane at Rowlands Field (between Pilford & Everest Roads)
1912 Part of the Winter Gardens became the full-time 'Winter Garden's New Kinema'.
1912 Modern Home Exhibition held at Town Hall including a complete 5-roomed bungalow and 130 manufacturers of electrical equipment.
1912 2000 members of West of England Public Schools' Officer Cadet Training Corps took part in a 'battle' on Cleeve Common.
1913 First recorded overhead electricity line erected in district (Prestbury Rd to 'Inglesby' in New Barn Lane.
1913 (Mar) Sidney Pickles from Hucclecote gave a demonstration of his 60hp Bleriot flying machine on the 'Aviation Ground' (Rowlands Field, Leckhampton).
1913 Cyclist killed in collision with a tramcar in London Road.
1913 Gillsmith's Hippodrome, Albion St, opened as a variety theatre. It is said that Jack Judge wrote 'It's a long way to Tipperary' in the dressing room and gave its first performance at this theatre.
1913 (Oct) Army aviators from Netheravon flying School, Wilts, visited in two biplanes and a monoplane, landing in fog at Rowlands Field, Leckhampton. All were old Cheltonians and one had come to attend a wedding at Christchurch.
1913 Two suffragettes arrested for setting fire to an empty house.
1914 During previous 18 months 20 Cheltenham trams and one bus carried 2,513,000 people around the town.
1914 Gas Company opened 2nd generating station at Gloucester Rd works.
1914 Pageant by St. John's Church girls to raise holiday funds for poor London girls.
1914 Newly built stand used at racecourse for 1st time on National Steeplechase Day.
1914 Cheltenham's two-week recruiting drive for 'England's new army'.
1914 First purpose-built cinema in Cheltenham, 'The Royal Picture House' with 1000 seats opened in North Street.
1914 Belgian refugees arrive in Cheltenham.
1914 Red Cross VA hospital at New Court (Lansdown Rd) opened with 12 hours notice to receive its first Belgian wounded.
1914 Moorend Park, Charlton Kings, opened as third Red Cross VA hospital.
1914 2000 men of first 'New Army' billeted with families in Cheltenham.
1914 To keep them fit soldiers of 10th Battalion Gloucestershire Regiment dug new water main trench from College Road to Leckhampton.
1915 Cheltenham Corporation moves into five former private houses in the Harward Buildings in the Promenade to form the new Municipal Offices, with a showroom for the Electricity Department. Town Council became responsible for maternity & child welfare.
1915 Demand for 'Cheltenham Waters' all over Britain exceeded supply.
1915 Red Cross V.A. Hospitals set up in several buildings in town for military casualties
1915 320 convalescing soldiers attend a garden party at Lilleybrook House.
1915 2nd Lt. G R Dallas Moor, ex-Cheltenham College, became youngest VC aged 18yrs.
1915 (Dec 19) 1,000 Cheltenham men had taken the oath to enlist by this date.
1916 Cheltenham invested in an air-raid siren, located at the local brewery.
1916 Electricity department bought a battery-run electric vehicle for use by the refuse-collection service.
1916 H H Martyn's commandeered the Winter Garden's Crystal Palace to build Bristol Fighter fuselages.
1916 Emmanuel Church (off Exmouth St) burned to the ground, town illuminated by flames.
1916 Great two-day blizzard blew huge trees down; town cut off by road and telephone.
1916 Maj. Arthur Inglis (Cheltenham College & Glosters) first man in history to lead tanks into action at the battle of Flers Courcelles.
1916 Eighth Red Cross VA hospital opened in Suffolk Hall for wounded soldiers.
1917 Severe frost in February (31 degrees of frost [-17.2C] the coldest since 1881).
1917 Four acres of Cheltenham College football ground given over to vegetable production.
1917 125 Ladies' College pupils hand-weeded a potato field at Shipton Oliffe on 2 visits.
1917 Cheltenham 'invaded' by 150 Portuguese labourers en-route to Guiting Power to fell trees.
1917 Communal kitchen opened in Trinity Mission Hall, Sherborne Street.
1917 Large queues outside grocery stores.
1918 Gloucestershire Aircraft Company capable of producing 45 aircraft a week at its Sunningend Works in Lansdown, Cheltenham.
1918 'Submarine Week' in Cheltenham raised £186,959
1918 First women appointed to the county police force serve at HQ and at Gloucester.
1918 300 American soldiers given lunch at Town Hall to celebrate Independence Day followed by a baseball match on Cheltenham College ground.
1918 Prisoner of War Week raised over £3000; 42 German prisoners arrived to work on local farms were quartered at Charlton House.
1918 (Nov 11) Special edition of the Gloucestershire Echo proclaimed: 'The Armistice was signed at 5-o-clock this morning. The star of peace returns'.
1918 (Nov 11) Armistice procession pulled a Bristol Fighter from Martyn's Sunningend Factory to the Promenade.
1919 St Luke's Emmanuel Church (Naunton Terrace) burnt down.
1919 Proposal to demolish buildings in Clarence St to expose vista of Cheltenham Parish Church as a war memorial never materialised.
1919 Town's Prisoner of War Committee gave a dinner for over 200 former POWs at the Town Hall.
1919 Voluntary Aided (VA) hospitals close at New Court, Lansdown Rd, The Priory, London Rd, Gloucester Rd School, The Racecourse, Leckhampton Ct, Suffolk Hall, St Martin's Clarence Square and Naunton Lane School.
1919 WW1 Mk 1 tank placed at Westall Green in recognition of local War Savings work.
1919 National Holiday (19 July) to celebrate 'Peace Day'.
1919 4000 returned Cheltenham soldiers & sailors paraded in Montpellier Gardens before marching through town to a fete at Pittville where 32,000 people attended.
1920 New education scheme in Cheltenham; elementary schools now officially admitted 3-year old pupils.
1920 Bowling greens are opened at Exmouth Arms & Norwood Arms in Leckhampton.
1920 Bandstand opened in Montpellier Gardens.
1920 Mixed bathing began at the Corporation Baths (Alstone).
1920 No 1 Crescent Terrace (Chief Constable's Office is sold.
1920 Chief Constable authorised the purchase of electric pocket lamps for officers.
1920 Town adopts French village of Englefontaine which suffered greatly during WW1.
1920 All bedrooms in the Charlton Park mansion now have their own hip and foot baths.
1920 The ten acres of land that had been leased by the East Gloucestershire Club from the Charlton Park Estate are purchased for £10,000
1921 Official opening of Cheltenham Garden Suburb at St Mark's.
1921 Glos Police HQs moved HQs from town centre to Holland House, Lansdown Rd.
1921 Cheltenham continues employing women police whilst the county stopped doing so.
1921 Miss Clara Winterbotham elected as Cheltenham's first Lady Mayor.
1921 WW1 memorial unveiled in the Promenade (Long Gardens).
1922 Mansion and parkland sold by the Brassey Trustees to Hugh William Reeves of London, who then gifted some 14½ acres of 'Old Park' to Cheltenham College. It became known as Reeves and Lower Reeves Field.
1922 Lilleybrook Golf Club formed.
1922 Lilleybrook Hotel, Charlton Kings, officially opened with a party.
1922 Lord Mayor of London visits Martyn's factory in Cheltenham to view statue of Edmund Burke before its presentation to America [via the Sulgrave Institution].
1922 The Daffodil 750-seat cinema opened in Suffolk Parade.
1923 National Hunt Festival at Prestbury Park extended to three days.
1923 Opening of the Municipal hard tennis courts in Montpellier Gardens.
1923 First Church of Christ, Scientist, Cheltenham in house in Bayshill Road & began building its first church.
1923 Cheltenham Town Bowling Club opened in St George's Square.
1923 'Cheltenham Flyer' record breaking journey between Swindon and Paddington.
1924 Leckhampton Quarry tram road closed
1924 Cheltenham General Hospital adopted a system of payments by patients.
1924 New treatments available at the Cheltenham Spa Medical Baths, including for colitis, toxaemia, gout, obesity & insomnia.
1924 Floods made junction of Sandford Mill & Old Bath Road impassable.
1924 Japanese exhibition of crafts opened for two weeks.
1924 Wagon of lime at Leckhampton Quarries careered down tramline at estimated 120mph causing £1000 worth of damage.
1924 Frosts severe enough to allow ice-skating on Pittville Park Lakes
1925 Charlton Kings fire brigade disbanded.
1925 Cheltenham Civic Society founded.
1925 Bus service between High Street and Sandy Lane commences.
1925 The final feast of the Manor of Cheltenham was held.
1925 Bandstand in Naunton Park Gardens was removed.
1926 Work ceased at Leckhampton Quarries.
1926 Montpellier Long Room occupied by Lloyds Bank.
1926 Black & White coach business commences from a garage in Charlton Kings.
1926 £10,000 scheme to improve the River Chelt from College Road to Bath Road approved by the town council.
1926 One Black & White coach made first daily journey from Cheltenham to London.
1927 WW1 'Mark 1' tank moved from Westall Green to Montpellier Gardens.
1927 The 1¼ mile railway-line from Charlton Kings to Leckhampton Quarry closed.
1927 Leckhampton Hill purchased by Cheltenham Corporation.
1927 Cheltenham-born composer Gustav Holst conducted a complete performance of his most famous work 'The Planets' at Cheltenham Town Hall.
1927 Boots the Chemist opened at the corner of High St & North Street about this time.
1927 Sale of Leckhampton Quarries plant & machinery held at the Plough Hotel.
1928 The Chief Constable expressed concern at the increased number of vehicles in Cheltenham.
1928 Gloucestershire Dairies opens roof garden above its Promenade café.
1928 Fire at the Town Hall destroyed many of the town's financial records.
1928 Daily Black & White coach service began from Cheltenham to Bristol.
1928 350th anniversary of Cheltenham Grammar School's foundation.
1928 Cheltenham Light Railway Co applies for authorisation to run trolley-buses.
1928 Cheltenham Homecraft Association opened six houses which included land to grow all garden produce (Tewkesbury Rd) the first town in the country to work this scheme.
1929 Local opposition to trolley-buses (trackless electric buses) in the town led to their abandonment in favour of motor buses.
1929 Westall Green drinking fountain; centre of junction of Queen's & Lansdown Roads, moved to present site at Keynsham Road end of Sandford Park; Westall Green Electricity sub-station completed and the 'island' filling station took its place.
1929 The Plough Hotel, High Street sold for £45,000
1929 The Gloster Aircraft Company's 'Gloster VI' ('Golden Arrow') achieved a speed record of 336 mph which was increased by the Gloster S6 to 357mph.
1929 Mayor re-opened Leckhampton Hill and Charlton Kings Common to the public.
1929 First showing of a 'talkie' film (Bulldog Drummond) at New Theatre & Opera Hse.
1929 Ten open-top double-decker buses arrive to cover first phase of tram replacements.
1930 The best beer in Cheltenham cost 2d (less than 1p) a pint.
1930 Workmen commenced lifting tram track at upper end of Leckhampton Road.
1930 Mayor welcomes visitors from Cheltenham, Australia.
1930 The Echo reported: 'a luxurious fleet of single-deckers, exquisitely upholstered and roofs high enough for a six-foot man to stand in comfort' had arrived in Cheltenham.
1930 The final tram ran from Lansdown to Charlton Kings and back.
1930s Cars & motorcycles regularly raced up Leckhampton Hill. One of the hill-climb stages was the steep 'Middle Jinny' section from Daisybank bridge to the old Lime Kilns.
1931 Hugh Reeves sold Cheltenham College a further 25½ acres of Charlton Park.
1931 The formal abandonment of the town's electric tramway system.
1931 Bad floods in eastern Cheltenham - Harp Hill 'was like a cascade'.
1931 George Dowty sets up his own workshop at 10 Lansdown Terrace Lane.
1931 Cavendish House extension occupies former site of the old Riding School.
1931 Royal Picture House (North St) closes having never converted to 'talkies'.
1932 Gloucestershire Dairy Co, Cheltenham, the first outside London to pasteurise milk.
1932 No 1 Pittville Terrace becomes Cheltenham's 'All-Electric Demonstration House'.
1932 Arle, Uckington, Staverton & Swindon Village received electricity supply.
1932 The 'Cheltenham Flyer' steam train covered the 77 miles between Swindon & Paddington in 56 minutes 47 seconds - reaching 91.4 mph.
1933 Dutch-born photographer Hugo Van Wadenoyen came to live and work in the town.
1933 Wally Hammond scored 231 against Derbyshire at Cheltenham College Ground.
1933 1000th run of the 'Cheltenham Flyer' steam train from Cheltenham to Paddington.
1933 Gloucester & Cheltenham greyhound racing track opened at Longlevens.
1934 Public given free entry to Montpellier Gardens.
1934 Cheltenham Archery moved from Montpellier Gardens to Old Bath Road.
1934 Slum clearance in Grove & Exmouth Streets as well as St Paul's
1934 Three of Chapman's Circus elephants helped themselves to seed potatoes, dog and poultry food outside Bloodworths store in Albion St but suffered no ill-effects during that evening's performance.
1934 10,000th electricity consumer connected (it took 33 years to connect the first 5,000 customers and 6 years to connect the second).
1935 Celebration of George V and Queen Mary's Silver Jubilee held in Charlton Park.
1935 Population of Cheltenham; 50,000
1935 Hugh Reeves sold the house, gardens and some 35 acres on the east side of the Lilley Brook which then became Charlton Park Convent. The obliteration of the east and north fronts of the house resulted from the building's conversion into a school by 1939.
1935 Sandford Lido open air swimming pool opens on a former allotment garden site.
1935 onwards; Charlton Park Gate is progressively built along a southern strip of Charlton Park which Reeves sold for the restricted building of high class houses.
1935 Convent of St Gregory closed and Bishop of Clifton lays foundation stone for St Gregory's Roman Catholic School.
1936 Charlton Park Convent School is established.
1936 Bus Station opened in Royal Well.
1936 Café at Sandford Lido is opened by the Mayor.
1936 Cheltenham & Gloucester Joint Airport officially opened at Staverton.
1936 Ford '10' cars supplied to the police force by Victory Motor Company.
1937 Demolition of Colonnade in Promenade completed & replaced by a new block of shops including Shirer & Lances.
1937 Phase Two of Whaddon Farm housing estate commenced.
1937 High Street traffic census (6am-10pm) recorded 6,869 cars; 7,408 bicycles & 174 horses.
1937 Coronation illuminations in the Promenade; Street parties and a procession were held for King George VI.
1937 The re-sited Imperial Spa building (from Queen's Hotel site in 1838) behind Neptune's Fountain in The Promenade is demolished and replaced by the Regal Cinema.
1937 Air Raid Precautions Commissioner gave Civil Defence lecture in Town Hall.
1938 Cambray Spa Turkish Baths, Rodney Road, demolished for the car park that is there today.
1938 Crematorium opened by the Mayor.
1938 Distribution of gas masks begins and Cheltenham owners and occupiers are notified by the Government which buildings will be requisitioned in the event of war.
1939 The Eagle Gates are moved from the south-east side of Charlton Park's mansion house to the top of the old Hollow-Way at the Cirencester Road entrance.
1939 Two-thirds of Cheltenham's houses now have electricity - the national average.
1939 Cheltenham mobile police take delivery of six new Ford V8 motor cars.
1939 70,000 gas masks delivered to Cheltenham; first 1,400 evacuees arrive from Birmingham; four air-raid shelters (each for 1,250 people) constructed around the town including one in Imperial Gardens for 1,550 people.
1940 December 11th - Cheltenham's worst night of air-raids during WW2. 2000 incendiary bombs and 155 high explosive bombs are dropped, killing 23 people.
1940 Severe frost problems (-29 degrees) including 550 telephones dislocated.
1940 Six Bertram Mills Circus elephants drank spa water outside the Town Hall to cure their rheumatism. 'Scrap Metal Week' sites around the town and iron railings removed to supply the need for armaments, including the WW1 tank in Montpellier Gardens.
1940 2,500 evacuees arrive from Eastbourne; many are accommodated in the Town Hall.
1941 Frank Whittle assembled Britain's first jet engine in a Regent Street garage and the Technical College's engineering team completed it. Maiden flight at Brockworth 15 May.
1941 More bombs fall on the town; gas masks are tested by the local police.
1941 5000 steel helmets arrive for town's voluntary fire-watchers, Cheltenham people pay for second Hurricane fighter aircraft; more bombs fall on town, the Reddings, Staverton Airport and Hunting Butts Farm, killing several people.
1942 Emergency Field Kitchen set up outside Winter Gardens to feed 500 people.
1942 Sebastopol cannons outside Queen's Hotel removed for essential scrap metal.
1942 American forces arrive in Cheltenham; General John C. H. Lee stays at Thirlstaine Hotel. Most hotels, including the Queen's were requisitioned. Other personnel are fitted into Government buildings at Oakley & Benhall, Pittville Pump Room, Leckhampton Court and in Nissen huts erected in Pittville and Imperial Gardens.
1942 Daylight bombing raids on Cheltenham, 400 houses damaged, 11 killed, 27 injured.
1943 Flower beds in Sandford Park used for growing vegetables
1943 £1,118,080 was raised in Cheltenham during 'Wings for Victory' week, when aircrews of 57 (Cheltenham) Squadron were guests of honour.
1943 Three year demolition of the Winter Gardens is completed.
1944 Glenn Miller & his band give concert for American Forces at the Town Hall.
1944 £1,397,927 was raised in Cheltenham & District during 'Salute the Soldier' week.
1945 Erection of 173 pre-fabricated houses commenced at Priors Farm Estate.
1945 Report from 'The Georgian Group' (on post-war reconstruction of towns) advised building 'blocks of flats of simple form and only 3 or 4-storeys high'.
1945 Plaque presented to the Mayor by Commanding General, UK base of the US Army in gratitude for the town's reception to the American forces during World War II.
1945 Smith's Industries war output included 1.5M speedometers & milometers, 10M aircraft instruments, 4M clocks, 24M hairsprings & 5M other instruments.
1946 87,000 Dowty undercarriages were built during World War II.
1946 A new Catholic parish was formed in Charlton Kings.
1946 An 'Airoh' aluminium pre-fabricated house was erected in 29½ minutes and was ready for occupation in one hour and eleven minutes.
1947 Prisoner's of War gave organ & Church music recital at St Peter's Church, Leckhampton.
1947 20,000th consumer in town now connected to electricity supply.
1948 Band Stand in Cheltenham's Imperial Gardens sold to Bognor Regis.
1948 GCHQ (Bletchley Park) chooses Cheltenham as its new location.
1948 Cheltenham Races filmed for first time by BBC Newsreel.
1948 2000 street lights are now installed around town using the 'Ripple' control system to turn them all on.
1949 Television sets purchased locally and pick up signals for the first time.
1949 One-way traffic system starts in High Street to try and ease congestion.
1949 Britain's first annual Literature Festival established in Cheltenham
1950 350 coaches and over 10,000 passengers pass through Black & White coach station in a day
1950 Mayor and party attend the 260th anniversary of the foundation as a township of Cheltenham, Pennsylvania, which was named by two settlers after their home town in England.
1950 Unveiling of WW2 War Memorial in Promenade's Long Garden by Gen. Lord Ismay.
1951 St Paul's Teacher Training College abandon plans to rebuild at Benhall Farm.
1951 The Queen and Princess Elizabeth attend Cheltenham Gold Cup at Prestbury Park.
1951 Government approve £1.5m plan for new housing in Hesters Way and Arle.
1952 GCHQ transferred from Bletchley Park to Cheltenham.
1952 Spire of St Matthew's Church, Clarence St removed as unsafe.
1953 1,200 people watched Queen Elizabeth's Coronation on large-screen TVs in the Town Hall. TV reception (for those owning a TV) in Cheltenham was still very poor.
1954 Council's application to build on land at Benhall Farm rejected by the County Council - land needed for food production.
1955 First official delegation in recognition of links with Gottingen, Germany and the first of many exchanges commence between the two towns.
1955 New Pilley Bridge on Old Bath Road, Leckhampton re-opens to traffic, 14 years after being destroyed by a German bomb.
1955 (July 12) - Cheltenham was the hottest place in the UK (26.7C / 80 degrees F).
1955 Marks & Spencer bought the Lamb Hotel, one of Cheltenham's oldest inns.
1956 Sacred Hearts Church built on former Charlton Park land against Moorend Road
1956 First & Second phases of North Glos Technical College completed in The Park.
1956 Borough Surveyor recommended that 8-storey flats would meet town's housing requirements.
1957 Woolworth bought the Royal Hotel in the High Street, another of the oldest hotels (after 99 yrs all 200 UK Woolworth stores closed at the end of 2008)
1958 Cheltenham's Regency Society urged that the town's architectural heritage is safeguarded.
1958 Two 8-storey blocks of flats approved at Hesters Way, Cheltenham.
1958 Proposals submitted to Town Council to ban day-time parking in the centre of Cheltenham to ease 'drastic' traffic congestion.
1958 Borough Council decided to form link with town of Sochi in the USSR and exchange visits commence.
1959 County Working Party appointed to consider 'Gloucestershire University' plan.
1959 New Theatre and Opera House closed due to lack of support.
1960 18 mile traffic jam on A40 Cheltenham to Oxford road.
1960 Eleven people killed in ten separate road accidents in Cheltenham area in one week.
1960 was the wettest year since 1882 (15.2cm in August alone)
1961 Population of Cheltenham now 72,154
1961 County Development Plan sought to prevent Cheltenham and Gloucester being linked as one vast conurbation.
1961-5 Charlton Park faces visual ruination but escapes the worst excesses of the 1960s 'Brutalist' trend in architecture.
1962 Leckhampton & Charlton Kings Railway Stations closed.
1962 Winchcombe Street widening scheme accepted by Transport Ministry.
1962 Cromwell Cottage (old house in Leckhampton's Church Rd) to be demolished.
1963 The 'Big Freeze' (January) 31 degrees of frost (-17.2C) recorded in Cheltenham.
1963 The Daffodil Cinema in Suffolk Parade closed.
1963 The Beatles perform at Cheltenham's Odeon Cinema on first date of their tour.
1964 The Beatles perform again to a packed audience at the Town Hall.
1964 Rolling Stones perform two sell out concerts at Odeon Cinema.
1964 Cliff Richard performs at the Odeon Cinema.
1964 Proposed plan for M5 motorway through Gloucestershire is established.
1965 'Cheltenham's lovely architecture has had its day; it is worn out' (County Planning Officer).
1965 The Rolling Stones perform again at Cheltenham's Odeon Cinema.
1966 Third and final phase of reconstructing Cavendish House completed.
1966 The Cotswolds are designated an 'Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.'
1966 £40,000 ICT computer installed at North Glos Technical College, Cheltenham.
1967 The Priory, London Road, demolished
St John's Church, Berkeley Street, demolished
Original County Police HQs, Holland House, demolished
Victorian Grammar School & Tower, demolished
Fleece Hotel, demolished
St James' Railway Station, demolished
Dowdeswell Railway Viaduct, demolished
1968 Eagle Star's £2m 13-storey office-block opens and remains Cheltenham's tallest building.
1969 New Club in Promenade demolished, Quadrangle office block built on same site.
1970 Cheltenham had lost about 30 hotels since before WW2
1970 First colour TV transmission of the Cheltenham National Hunt Festival.
1971 Population of Cheltenham now 74,356
1971 Former Alstone Baths close to become an indoor market.
1971 Smoking banned in all Cheltenham hospitals.
1972 Tower of St Matthew's Church, Clarence Street lowered.
1973 Cheltenham District Council dropped 'Spa' from the town's name.
1974 Cheltenham Spa Campaign Group demand: 'No More Office Blocks.'
1975 A new 3-bedroom semi-detached house in Cheltenham cost £9,650
1975 Cheltenham College sold some 30 acres of Charlton Park to Bovis Homes Western.
1976-83 Bovis Homes Western build some 250 dwellings in Charlton Park.
1977 Brewers Ind Coope applies to demolish Restoration Inn in the High Street and fail.
1978 Charlton Kings Local History Society is formed.
1979 Bavarian-style hunting lodge, the Moorend Park Hotel was demolished.
1980 Lansdown Crescent restored by the Guinness Trust and Borough Council.
1980 Dutch Elm Disease wipes out 4,500 trees in the town
1981 Population of Cheltenham 82,972
1981 Controversial plan for a modern new office block to replace ABC cinema in Cheltenham Promenade is described as 'a heap of garbage' by the Borough Council Planning Committee.
1982 Work begins on site of old Plough Hotel for new Regent Arcade Shopping Centre.
1982 Another design for modern building to replace the ABC cinema described by the Cheltenham Spa Campaign as 'contemporary rubbish'.
1982 Sacred Hearts Church, in the former Charlton Park is dedicated.
1983 King William Drive completed in Charlton Park, which after Parabola Road, Cheltenham (see 1840 above) becomes another unique road name in Britain.
1987 Charlton Park Convent School and its remaining grounds sold to another Catholic Independent Co-Educational Day School (St Edward's) - the current occupiers.
1991 Population of Cheltenham 103,115 in the Cheltenham District Council area, an increase of 24% since 1981
1991 Beechwood Place Shopping Centre officially opened.
1992 Leckhampton Local History Society was formed.
1993 Woolworths returned to Cheltenham's High Street on former Co-op site.
1994 Montpellier Bandstand, restored by Cheltenham Civic Society, re-opened.
1995 Preparations made to demolish council flats in Hesters Way and St Marks and replace them with houses.
1996 Pates Grammar School buildings in Hesters Way demolished and a new Grammar School is built on the site in the same year.
1997 2000 fans attend Radio One's Roadshow in Cox's Meadow.
1998 Cheltenham & Gloucester College of Higher Education told it would become a fully-fledged university after a three-year probationary period.
1998 Formal twinning arrangement with Weihai, China is agreed.
1999 Government inspectors told Gloucestershire County Council to find space for 55,000 new homes, 7,000 of them in Cheltenham.
1999 A time capsule was buried in Regent Arcade Shopping Centre by the Mayor of Cheltenham, to be opened in the year 2100.
1999 A history plaque was installed on the Green in King William Drive, displaying an engraving of Thomas Robins' painting; funded by Charlton Park Residents Association.
2000 Over 14,000 people attend the Christian millennium celebration Pentecost 2000 in Prestbury Park (Cheltenham Racecourse).
2000 Charlton Park and its old Mansion entered the 21st century incorporating a private school, a Catholic church and several modern housing developments. The former mansion house, having been given a new lease of life as a school, will no doubt outlive most of its current and future charges, retaining much of its impressive historic identity and a little of the spirit of the men and women who built, rebuilt, cherished and lived within her. If any surviving local house can claim to have witnessed the birth pangs of this lovely town, this one surely stands tall amongst them.
2001 (most recent Census) Population of Cheltenham 110,013
2007 The 'Great Flood' of July overwhelms new flood defences and inundates the town centre - the latest flood to do so.
2008 A local history project - 'A brief history of Charlton Park' goes on the internet.


 Back to the top